Writers Guild of Canada

Neal McDougall

WGC names Neal McDougall new director of policy

McDougall (pictured) comes to the organization from the Canada Media Fund, where he was a policy analyst.

Pen and paper (Photo: OrinZebest, Flickr Creative Commons)

Canadian screenwriters, CBC agree new labour deal

The Writers Guild of Canada and the public broadcaster agreed on terms for separate new collective agreements for radio and TV English-language screenwriting.

WGC awards 2013

LTK, L.A. Complex scribes win at WGC screenwriting awards

The awards, hosted by Ryan Belleville and written by Bob Kerr, were handed out Monday night in Toronto.


In the writers’ room with WGC awards’ TV drama nominees

Michael MacLennan, Simon Barry, Leila Basen, Heather Conkie and Esta Spalding talk writers’ room must-haves, how they write drama, and potential TV crossover episodes.


WGC screenwriting awards nominees unveiled

The writers behind Bomb Girls, Less Than Kind, My Babysitter’s a Vampire, Still (pictured) and Picture Day are nominated for the Writers Guild of Canada’s awards on Apr. 22.


Photo gallery: WGC Holiday Reception

Members of the WGC spread holiday cheer on Dec. 12 at Toronto’s Revival bar in Toronto.


WGC, CMPA and APFTQ ratify new writers pact

The deal gives writers an immediate 2% minimum script fee increase, followed by another 2% in January 2013 and 1% in January 2014.

Christine Rutherford (2)-1

WGC names director of strategy and outreach

In the newly created role, Christine Rutherford (pictured) will be responsible for strengthening the WGC’s collective bargaining activities.


Industry organizations tell CRTC their views on BCE/Astral deal

The WGC, DGC, ACTRA and Documentary Organization of Canada expressed concern about voice diversity and Bell’s proposed TV benefits package.

Stacey Kaser, Anne-Marie Perrotta, Elizabeth Stewart & Writers Block Award recipient Chuck Lazer

Photo gallery: Writers Guild of Canada Awards – Apr. 23, 2012

Host Ryan Belleville kept the crowd lively with jibes and jabs as Canadian scribes honoured their peers at an event in downtown Toronto.


IATSE calls for refundable tax credit in Saskatchewan

“We are prepared to look at other measures to support the industry, but we remain committed to ending the tax grant program,” premier Brad Wall told the U.S. union in two-way correspondence.


Writers Guild of Canada unveils new council

Jill Golick will continue to serve as the organization’s president, supported by Andrew Wreggit as VP and Mark Ellis as treasurer for the next two-year term.