Telefilm: The lifeblood of Canadian cinema

As the movie funder reflects on 50 years, stakeholders weigh in on where the organization needs to go in an industry that’s increasingly global, digital and diverse.


Room cleans up at final night of 2016 Screenies

The Ireland/Canada copro took home nine awards Sunday evening, with Schitt’s Creek and Hyena Road winning three prizes each.


Emma Donoghue wins Golden Box Office Award

The award recognizes the Canadian director or screenwriter behind the year’s highest-grossing Canadian film at the domestic box office. (Room pictured.)

Brie Larson Jacob Tremblay

Brie Larson wins Oscar for Canada copro Room

Pakistani-Canadian director Sharmeen Obaid Chinoy also won an award for her doc short, A Girl in the River: The Price of Forgiveness (Pakistan). (Room pictured)

Schitt's Creek

Schitt’s Creek, Room lead CSA nominations

The CBC comedy received 14 TV nominations while Room received the most film nods with 11. (Schitt’s Creek pictured.)

Jacob Tremblay

Room lands two acting wins at Critics’ Choice

Canadian actor Jacob Tremblay (pictured) picked up a prize in the category of Best Young Actor/Actress.


Three Canadian copro titles land Oscar noms

Claude Lanzmann: Spectres of the Shoah (pictured), Room and Brooklyn all picked up Oscar nods, with Brooklyn and Room nominated for best film.


Room earns acting nod at Golden Globes

The Ireland/Canada copro was up for three Golden Globe awards and took home one for Brie Larson’s lead performance.


Room, Brooklyn earn BAFTA noms

The two Canadian copros picked up nominations across a number of categories, with Room‘s Brie Larson and Brooklyn‘s Saoirse Ronan (pictured) both earning best actress nods.


Room wins VFCC best Canadian film prize

The Canadian/Irish copro won four prizes, with Sleeping Giant and Haida Gwaii: On the Edge of the World also picking up awards.

Gabrielle Rose

Gabrielle Rose honoured by Vancouver Film Critics

The award recognizes a British Columbian actor who has made a significant contribution to the province’s film industry.

The Forbidden Room

Vancouver Film Critics Circle announces nominations

Guy Maddin and Evan Johnson’s The Forbidden Room (pictured) was one of three films nominated for the best Canadian film prize.