Michael Eklund cropped

Michael Eklund, Camille Sullivan win UBCP/ACTRA Awards

Five members of the Union of British Columbia Performers, an autonomous branch of ACTRA, were honoured at an awards gala held in Vancouver Saturday. (Eklund pictured.)


Laurie McAllister joins ACTRA Toronto

McAllister replaces Mimi Wolch – who has moved to Film Ontario – as the union’s new director of independent and broadcast production.

Image from Shutterstock

Independent Production Agreement negotiations begin

ACTRA is at the table with the CMPA and AQPM to hash out an updated agreement between producers and actors.

Ma Nee Chacaby, Adam Garnet Jones, Jaykaybie Brown and Mary Galloway

Photo Gallery: Studio District Film Party

A selection of shots from the ACTRA Toronto and HangLoose Media TIFF ’15 party.

Nicole St. Martin Laurie Finstad-Knizhnik

Laurie Finstad-Knizhnik recognized with Nell Shipman Award

The award recognizes a female producer, writer or showrunner who has worked to advance gender equity in the industry. (Nicole St. Martin (left) and Finstad-Knizhnik pictured.)


ACTRA Montreal unveils 2015 award winners

Meaghan Rath (pictured) and Mark Camacho were among the nominees who took home prizes at the ACTRA Montreal awards ceremony held on Saturday evening.

shutterstock_tv clouds

Jean-Pierre Blais: no doomsday scenario from cable unbundling

“We don’t have a choice. We had to make this change,” the CRTC chairman told reporters in Gatineau, Quebec after unveiling the latest Let’s Talk TV decision.

Amanda Tapping

Amanda Tapping is ACTRA’s Woman of the Year

Past recipients of the award include Shirley Douglas, Tantoo Cardinal and Mary Walsh.


Photo gallery: 2015 ACTRA Toronto Awards

A look at some of the glitz and glam on display at the 2015 ACTRA Awards, held at The Carlu in Toronto on Feb. 20.

Photo: Mayanais, Flickr Creative Commons

B.C. actors, producers agree on tentative labour deal

Performers are to receive a 6% rate increase over three years as part of a renewed pact to kick in on April 1, 2015, once ratified.


Jason Priestley to receive ACTRA Award of Excellence

The actor-turned-director will receive the tribute in Los Angeles on Jan. 31.

ACTRA Awards - thumb

ACTRA Toronto unveils nominees for 2015 awards

The ACTRA Awards trophies for best male, female and voice performance will be handed out on Feb. 20.