Unions & Guilds


WGC, CMPA and APFTQ ratify new writers pact

The deal gives writers an immediate 2% minimum script fee increase, followed by another 2% in January 2013 and 1% in January 2014.

Christine Rutherford (2)-1

WGC names director of strategy and outreach

In the newly created role, Christine Rutherford (pictured) will be responsible for strengthening the WGC’s collective bargaining activities.

Marit Styles.

Marit Stiles promoted at ACTRA

Stiles (pictured) replaces Joanne Deer, who has taken up a position at Vancouver ad-firm NOW Communications, as national director of public policy and communications.


ACTRA urges Ottawa pass tax changes to help creators

ACTRA national president Ferne Downey (pictured) says the bill would allow for multi-year “income averaging,” which would benefit self-employed creators who have wildly fluctuating incomes.


Ferne Downey elected president of global actors group

The ACTRA national president (pictured) on Sunday was named president of the International Federation of Actors, replacing Agnete Haaland of Norway.

Pen and paper (Photo: OrinZebest, Flickr Creative Commons)

Canadian producers and WGC reach new tentative IPA deal

The agreement Friday followed a final bargaining push leading up to the new three-year deal.

David Cronenberg Headshot

Nominees revealed for 2012 DGC awards

On the list is past winner David Cronenberg (pictured), who picked up nominations for best direction and best feature film for A Dangerous Method.


New actors’ rights treaty lauded

CMPA president and CEO Michael Hennessy (pictured) says ACTRA played a key role in audiovisual performances treaty.

06-02-11Ferne Downey

Canada urged to sign new rights pact

Ferne Downey (pictured), ACTRA’s national president who attended the Beijing conference, says the treaty secures new economic rights for screen performers.


We’re looking for the New Establishment

We’re asking Playback‘s readers and industry insiders to help us identify the best and brightest of their peers for the inaugural award.

Stacey Kaser, Anne-Marie Perrotta, Elizabeth Stewart & Writers Block Award recipient Chuck Lazer

Photo gallery: Writers Guild of Canada Awards – Apr. 23, 2012

Host Ryan Belleville kept the crowd lively with jibes and jabs as Canadian scribes honoured their peers at an event in downtown Toronto.


Writers Guild of Canada unveils new council

Jill Golick will continue to serve as the organization’s president, supported by Andrew Wreggit as VP and Mark Ellis as treasurer for the next two-year term.