Jean-Marc Vallée to receive posthumous honour at BANFF’s Rockie Awards Gala

Additional recipients for the in-person ceremony at the Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel on June 14 include Eagle Vision, Ana Gasteyer, Vivica A. Fox, Starstruck's Rose Matafeo and the showrunners of Yellowjackets.

Winnipeg prodco Eagle Vision, Saturday Night Live alum Ana Gasteyer and the late Jean-Marc Vallée are among the 2022 Rockie Awards Gala recipients for the 43rd Banff World Media Festival (BANFF).

The ceremony will be held in-person on June 14 at the Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel in Banff, Alta., with Jully Black, an award-winning Canadian R&B singer and Canada’s Walk of Fame inductee, set to host and perform. BANFF will run from June 12 to 15.

Vallée will be posthumously honoured with the Canadian Award of Distinction, which celebrates a Canadian “whose body of work exemplifies outstanding achievement in the entertainment industry.” The late Montreal-born director was an acclaimed artist through his films C.R.A.Z.Y., Dallas Buyers Club and Wild, and HBO series Big Little Lies and Sharp Objects. Last year’s honouree was Kim’s Convenience and Shang-Chi and the Legend of the Ten Rings star Simu Liu.

Eagle Vision will receive the Innovative Producer Award, which recognizes the achievements of an independent producer in TV and digital media. The Winnipeg-based prodco is led by partners Lisa Meeches, Kyle Irving and Rebecca Gibson, and has produced series such as CBC’s Burden of Truth, APTN’s Taken, History’s Ice Road Truckers and APTN lumi’s DJ Burnt Bannock. Previous recipients include Sinking Ship Entertainment, New Metric Media and Scott Brothers Entertainment.

Comedian Ana Gasteyer will receive the Sir Peter Ustinov Award, which recognizes comedic contributions to the entertainment industry. Gasteyer spent six years on Saturday Night Live and stars in the NBC series American Auto. Former SNL cast members Kenan Thompson and Bill Hader are past recipients of the award.

Actor Vivica A. Fox is the recipient of the Inclusion Award, which honours an individual “whose efforts and vision in media champion and reflect the diversity of the world in which we live.” She has starred in projects such as Kill Bill and Independence Day in addition to more than a decade creating projects with U.S. network Lifetime. Past recipients include Orange is the New Black‘s Danielle Brooks, LeVar Burton and the producers of Surviving R. Kelly.

Ashley Lyle, Bart Nickerson and Jonathan Lisco, co-showrunners of the Entertainment One-produced series Yellowjackets, are the winners of Showrunner of the Year. The Showtime series debuted in 2021 to wide acclaim, with a second season on the way. Past recipients are Jed Mercurio, Moira Walley-Beckett and Damon Lindelof.

New Zealand comedian Rose Matafeo will be honoured with the Creative Voice Award, which recognizes the breakout work of an executive or creative on the global stage. Matafeo created the critically acclaimed sitcom Starstruck, commissioned by BBC3 and HBO Max.

An additional three awards will be announced live during the ceremony: The Impact Award, Program of the Year and the Grand Jury Prize, which is awarded to the highest-scoring project in the Rockies Program Competition.

Picture (L-R): Jean-Marc Vallée, Lisa Meeches, Vivica A. Fox (top), Ana Gasteyer, Rose Matafeo and Ashley Lyle (bottom)