CSAs night two: Corner Gas Animated, PAW Patrol, Odd Squad, Bit Playas nab top honours

Screen Shot 2021-05-18 at 4.24.47 PM
The Canadian Screen Awards' second evening of prize-giving recognized children's content, animation, digital and immersive.

Corner Gas Animated, PAW Patrol, Odd Squad Mobile Unit and Bit Playas were among the big winners on night two of the 2021 Canadian Screen Awards, with each claiming a pair of prizes.

CTV Comedy half-hour series Corner Gas Animated (Verite Films, Sparrow Media, Aslan Entertainment) won Best Animated Program or Series, besting Hotel Transylvania: The Series, The Magic School Bus Rides Again, Snoopy in Space and Wild Kratts. The Brent Butt-created comedy also won the category for best performance, animation, with Lorne Cardinal taking home the prize.

Spin Master’s PAW Patrol (TVOKids) won the Best Pre-school Program or Series category ahead of Abby Hatcher, Dino Dana, Esme & Roy and True and the Rainbow Kingdom, in addition to the best sound, animation prize for the episode “Dino Rescue: Pups and the Lost Dino Eggs.”

Sinking Ship Entertainment’s Odd Squad Mobile Unit (TVOKids) claimed the award for Best Children’s or Youth Fiction Program or Series. The show also won the Best Direction, Children’s or Youth prize for the Warren Sonoda-directed episode “Music of Sound.”

In the digital series categories, LaRue Entertainment’s Bit Playas, created by Kris Siddiqi and Nigel Downer, won Best Web Program or Series, Fiction. The creators of the CBC Gem original also won best writing in a web program or series.

The NFB’s The Book of Distance (Randall Okita, David Oppenheim, Anita Lee) was named Best Immersive Experience, while Compulsion Games’ We Happy Few: We All Fall Down (Alex Epstein, Lisa Hunter, Mark Slutsky) won best video game.

Elsewhere in the writing categories, Xavier Riddle and The Secret Museum (TVOKids) won best writing, animation for the episode “I am Harriet Tubman”, penned by Desmond Sargeant and Meghan Read; and Detention Adventure (CBC Gem) won Best Writing, Children’s or Youth for “Hitting a Wall”, written by Jessica Meya.

Other directing prizes went to Robin Budd for Hotel Transylvania: The Series for the episode “What Lycidias Beneath” and TJ Content’s Hey Lady! won the Best Direction, Web Program or Series prize (Adriana Maggs, Sarah Polley, Will Bowes).

Acting prizes were presented to Saara Chaudry, who won Best Performance, Children’s or Youth, for her role in Dino Dana and Jayne Eastwood, who won Best Lead Performance, Web Program or Series, for Hey Lady!

Best Web Program or Series, Non-Fiction was awarded to CBC’s Canada’s a Drag and the prize for best animated short went to Hot Flash, produced by Thea Hollatz, Kristy Neville, Matt Code, Morghan Fortier and Brett Jubinville.

The Academy also gave the Outstanding Media Innovation Award to Secret Location for VUSR, a program that enables content creators to publish and distribute virtual reality content across every all VR platform, regardless of the specific requirements of the VR hardware.