Schitt’s earns ensemble at ACTRA Awards for third year in a row

Screen Shot 2021-02-22 at 10.03.57 AM
ACTRA Toronto's ceremony also saw Outstanding Performance - Female go to Tamara Podemski (Coroner), while Jesse LaVercombe (Violation) was honoured with Outstanding Performance - Male.

Schitt’s Creek has done it again.

For the third year in a row the CBC and POP TV comedy from Not a Real Company Productions has picked up the Members’ Choice Series Ensemble Award, announced during the 19th annual Alliance of Canadian Cinema, Television and Radio Artists (ACTRA) Awards in Toronto yesterday (Feb. 21),

Presented on ACTRA Toronto’s YouTube channel, the show was nominated alongside Band Ladies (Highball TV/Moon Astronaut Studios/Dei Gratia Pictures); Baroness von Sketch Show (Frantic Films); Kim’s Convenience (Thunderbird Entertainment with Soul Pepper Theatre Company); and Murdoch Mysteries (Shaftesbury). Dan Levy (pictured) accepted the prize on behalf of the show.

This win also follows the news about Schitt’s Creek‘s five Golden Globe nominations and nods for the 2021 Screen Actors Guild Awards.

Meanwhile, the ceremony also saw Outstanding Performance – Female go to Tamara Podemski for her role as Alison Trent in Coroner’s “One Drum.”

Outstanding Performance – Male, on the other hand, went to Jesse LaVercombe for his performance as Dylan in writer/director/producers Madeleine Sims-Fewer and Dusty Mancinelli’s Violation, which made its world premiere at TIFF last year and was recently picked up by Toronto-based prodco and distributor PNP.

On the voice front, Bahia Watson earned Outstanding Performance – Female Voice for her portrayal as Leshawna in Total Dramarama, “Total Eclipse of the Fart,” while the male award went to Cory Doran as Manson and Johnny in Doomsday Brothers episode “The Real Monster is… You!”.

Of note, Tara Sky also presented her mother, multi-disciplinary artist Jani Lauzon, with ACTRA Toronto’s 2021 Award of Excellence.

“I am blown away by the calibre and diversity of the talented performers nominated this year,” said newly elected ACTRA Toronto president David Gale in a statement. “Building a star system in Canada has been a little bit of a thing of mine for a while. We will build our strength as a union by raising the profile of our award-winning and rising stars. Congratulations to all the nominees and winners.”

Notably, ACTRA Toronto is the largest organization within ACTRA and represents more than 15,000 of Canada’s 27,000 professional performers working in recorded media in Canada.