CMPA reveals nominees for 15th annual Indiescreen Awards

Indiescreen nominees 2020
Jennifer Holness, Lori Lozinski and Sarah Spring are among those nominated for the Established Producer Award.

The CMPA has named the nominees for its 15th annual Indiescreen Awards, which was delayed due to the pandemic.

Five producers and producer teams are nominated for the Established Producer Award this year: Hungry Eyes Media’s Jennifer Holness (Stateless); Violator Films’ Lori Lozinski (Sugar Daddy) and Parabola Films’ Sarah Spring (No Ordinary Man); White Bear Films’ Tanya Brunel and Jeremy Torrie (The Corruption of Divine Providence); and the team of Screen Siren Pictures’ Trish Dolman and Terminal City Pictures’ Christine Haebler (French Exit).

Nominated for the Kevin Tierney Emerging Producer Award are: Blue Lake Films’ Ana de Lara (All-In Madonna); Nemesis Films’ Dominique Dussault (Nadia, Butterfly); Couronne Nord’s Julie Groleau (Jusqu’au déclin); Dos Gatos Negros Films’ Caleb Ryan (Vagrant); and Canesugar Filmworks’ Jake Yanowski and Charles Officer (Akilla’s Escape).

While the Indiescreen Award winners are typically announced on opening night at the Toronto International Film Festival, the pandemic has meant the event was pushed back. It will now take place on Feb. 10 at 4 p.m. in a virtual ceremony during CMPA Prime Time’s 2021 edition.

The Established Producer Award recognizes filmmaking accomplishments over the course of a career and is accompanied by a $10,000 prize. The Kevin Tierney Emerging Producer Award, launched in 2016, recognizes independent film producers on the rise, and comes with a $5,000 prize.