Spin Master VP Linda Stregger named WIFT-T board chair

Executives from the CFC and Sinking Ship Entertainment were among the newly elected members on the organization's 2020/21 board of directors.

Linda StreggerWomen in Film & Television – Toronto (WIFT-T) has lifted the lid on a number of new appointments for its 2020/21 board of directors and foundation.

Elected during the non-profit’s virtual annual general meeting earlier this week, Spin Master Entertainment VP of finance, entertainment Linda Stregger (pictured) has been named chair of the board of directors. The former vice-chair and treasurer takes over for long-time chair Jocelyn Hamilton, president, Canada, eOne Television.

Meanwhile, Corus Entertainment production executive Susan Alexander was elected as vice-chair and Toronto Blue Jays director of finance Janet Chant is now treasurer. Bell Media’s Sonia Brar continues on in her role as secretary.

Writer/director Gloria Ui Young Kim was also re-elected to the board with Noora Abu Eitah, location VP, product operations – Innovation Lab; Tangent Animation head of legal affairs Susan Karnay; Blue Ant Media VP, head of original content Sam Linton; Shaftesbury VP, global brand strategy Dylen Postnikoff; and Vérité Films president and co-founder Virginia Thompson.

New faces joining for 2020/21 include: Canadian Film Centre (CFC) director, partnerships and events Argie Eliopoulos; Inkling Entertainment writer/executive producer Karen Walton; Sinking Ship Entertainment head of animated series Tanya Green; Walt Disney Studios marketing manager, media and experiential marketing (XM) Cailyn Michaan; and lawyer, independent business and legal affairs consultant Terry E. Markus – who was also appointed as the Foundation for WIFT-T’s new chair.

“I am very excited about the new challenges and opportunities that the organization will consider in the year ahead,” said Stregger in a press release about the change. “We are ideally positioned to navigate how the future of the industry will unfold and our role within this changing landscape. On behalf of the entire Board and the organization, I am so grateful for the leadership that both Jocelyn Hamilton (chair, WIFT-T) and Alex Lalonde (chair, Foundation for WIFT-T) have demonstrated during their tenure and look forward to continuing their efforts.”

Rounding out the list of leaders stepping up for the foundation is Banff World Media Festival and Playback executive director Jenn Kuzmyk as vice-chair, Rebel Street Productions’ Helen Argiro as secretary and Janet Chant as treasurer. The CFC’s Eliopoulos also joins the Foundation for WIFT-T with National Bank of Canada account manager Carolyn Allain and independent producer Laura Heath-Potter. Consultant Marilyn Orecchio was re-appointed to the board. The foundation plays a key role in funding and increasing access to WIFT-T programs and events.

In a release, the non-profit also thanked Hamilton and other outgoing directors such as Sticky Brain Studios partner/executive producer Sasha Boersma, senior director, comedy, CBC Michelle Daly, WildBrain CCO Anne Loi, Independent Production Fund and Cogeco Program Development Fund CEO Andra Sheffer, and Stratagem Rx COO Alex LaLonde for their significant contributions.

Founded in 1984, WIFT-T is a member-based organization committed to the development and advancement of women in the screen-based industry.