Anne with an E, D.N.Ace lead ACTRA Toronto nominations

Both series earned four nominations apiece, while digital series Tokens made award history with two nominations, including for its ensemble.

CBC drama Anne with an E (pictured) and nominated series D.N.Ace lead the nominations for the 18th Annual ACTRA Awards in Toronto, securing four nods each.

The awards are given to and determined by ACTRA Toronto members, with films, TV series and webseries eligible for nomination.

Anne with an E, produced by Northwood Entertainment, picked up two nominations in the Outstanding Performance – Male category for Dalmar Abuzeid and Araya Mengesha. They are nominated alongside Aaron Abrams and Salvatore Antonio from Motion Offense Productions’ film Nose to Tail, and Daniel Fathers from the Wild Media Entertainment-produced film Project Ithaca.

The CBC and Netflix drama is nominated in the Outstanding Performance – Female category for Cara Ricketts. She is joined by Anastasia Phillips for Ja Productions’ film Tammy’s Always Dying, Karen Robinson in the revived Super Channel series Forgive Me,  Jessica Greco for the webseries Tokens and Krista Morin for the short film Spooning.

The series is also up for the ensemble award, which includes a historic nomination for Tokens. The webseries, written and produced by Winnifred Jong and Trinni Franke, is the first digital series to be nominated in the category. Anne with an E and Tokens are joined by CBC comedies Baroness Von Sketch Show (Frantic Films), Schitt’s Creek (Not a Real Company Productions) and Kim’s Convenience (Thunderbird Entertainment).

Teletoon animated series D.N.Ace, produced by Corus Entertainment-owned Nelvana, is up for four nominations in the voice performance categories. Taylor Abrahamse, Juan Chioran and Lyon Smith are nominated in the male category, joined by Carter Hayden for Hotel Transylvania: The Series and Jacob Soley for WildBrain’s Charlie’s Colorforms.

D.N.Ace’s Samantha Weinstein is nominated in the female performance category alongside Julie Lemieux for her roles in 9 Story Media Group’s Top Wing and Nelvana’s Binky: Pets of the Universe, Tajja Isen for Universal Kids’ Norman Picklestripes and Bryn McAuley for Hotel Transylvania: The Series.

It was announced in December that Kim’s Convenience star Jean Yoon will receive the 2020 Award of Excellence. The ACTRA Toronto Stunt Award will be announced at a later date.

The awards will be presented at a ceremony at The Carlu in Toronto on Feb. 22.

Image: Ken Woroner/Netflix