WIFT-V honours industry leaders, filmmakers at 20-year gala

Documentary filmmaker Julia Ivanova (pictured) was among the winners, joined by filmmaker Doreen Manuel and Dr. Amanda Coles.

?????????????Women in Film and Television Vancouver celebrated its 20th anniversary with the annual Spotlight Awards Gala on July 2.

Among the gala winners is documentary filmmaker Julia Ivanova, earning the DGC BC Artistic Achievement Award. Ivanova was honoured by Hot Docs earlier this year with its Focus On retrospective.

The Teamsters Canada Woman of the Year Award was given to Doreen Manuel, a Secwepemc/Ktunaxa First Nations filmmaker and the director of the Bosa Centre for Film and Animation at Capilano University.

Dr. Amanda Coles was honoured with the Please Adjust Your Set award with her work bringing gender parity concerns to the forefront of the industry. Filmmaker and animator Ann Marie Fleming was named the recipient of the Cast & Crew Artistic Achievement Award.

Additional honours include producer and actor Amy Fox for the YVR Screen Scene Innovation Award, Lily Hui for the Finalé Special Jury Award for Outstanding Career, and filmmakers Meeshelle Neal and Jax Smith for the Matrix Production Services Image Award.

The full list of winners is below:

Teamsters Canada Woman of the Year Award – Doreen Manuel

Please Adjust Your Set – Amanda Coles

DGC BC Artistic Achievement Award – Julia Ivanova

Cast & Crew Artistic Achievement Award – Ann Marie Fleming

YVR Screen Scene Innovation Award – Amy Fox

IATSE Honoured Friend Award – Robert Wong

Capilano University Leadership in Education Award – Natasha Tony

Integral Artists Wayne Black Award – Suzanna Thompson

Bron Iris Award – Shana Myara

Finalé Special Jury Award for Outstanding Career– Lily Hui

Matrix Production Services Image Award – Meeshelle Neal & Jax Smith

Encore Vancouver Newcomer Award – Mayumi Yoshida

UBCP/ACTRA Impact Award – Barb Cranmer

Troika Sharon Gibbon Award – Dawn McCormick