Handful of Films wins raft of Rosies

fast horse v2
The prodco won best docuseries and best non-fiction short, while elsewhere there were wins for Wynonna Earp and #Roxy.

Handful of Films walked away with a number of prizes at the 45th annual Alberta Film & Television Awards (or Rosie Awards) on Saturday, winning Best Documentary Series for Equus: Story of the Horse and Best Documentary Under 30 Minutes for Boy Nomad.

The prodco’s Niobe Thompson, who directed Boy Nomad alongside co-director Dennis Wells, also won best director for a non-fiction project under 30 minutes and best screenwriter in a non-fiction over 30 minutes for Equus. In other craft categories, Equus picked up Best Overall Sound, Non-Fiction Over 30 Minutes; Best Editor, Non-Fiction Over 30 Minutes; and Best Animator/Motion Graphic Artist.

Additionally, Fast Horse (pictured), another Handful project, won the prize for Best Non-Fiction Short and Best Overall Sound, Non-Fiction Under 30 Minutes. Earlier this year, the short from Edmonton’s Alexandra Lazarowich was awarded a special jury prize for directing at the Sundance Film Festival.

Held at by the Alberta Media Production Industries Association (AMPIA) at the Edmonton Convention Centre, the evening also saw #Roxy from Mosaic Entertainment win Best Dramatic Feature and sci-fi Wynonna Earp from Seven24 Films take home Best Dramatic Series. Director Dean Bennett also won the title of Best Director, Drama Over 20 Minutes for Seven24 Films’ Heartland episode “Naming Day.”

Meanwhile, Best Children’s Program or Series went to Valley of the Lanterns from New Machine Studios and Histoires de chars from Joe Media Group picked up Best Information or Lifestyle Series for the episode “Fidelite a la marque.”

Fox Chaser: A Winter on the Trapline from Hidden Story Productions, which won Best Documentary Over 30 Minutes, also walked away with the prize for best director in a non-fiction project over 30 minutes for Rio Mitchell.

Best screenwriter prizes went to Michael Peterson and Kevin Cockle for thriller Knuckleball (775 Media) for drama over 30 minutes; Randy Brosoky for Necessary Evil episode “Soul Purpose” (Group of Rogues) for drama under 30 minutes; and Frederick Kroetsch for Queen of the Oil Patch‘s “Publicity Whirl!” episode for non-fiction under 30 minutes.

Other wins from the night include: Paper Boat Productions’ Frick, I Love Nature for “Weird Ways Animals Make Babies” in the best musical, comedy or variety program section; The Suburbanight from No Problem Productions for Best Dramatic Short; and Abracadevers from producers Morgan Ermter, Griffin Cork and Josef Wright for Best Web Series – Fiction; and How to Learn Anything from Zipline Productions for Best Web Series – Non-Fiction.