CSAs ’19: Cardinal, Anne With an E snag five prizes apiece

IMG-4919 (1)
Odd Squad, Baroness von Sketch and Letterkenny also claimed multiple awards at the Creative Fiction Storytelling gala.

Cardinal and Anne With an E were the big winners on night two of the 2019 Canadian Screen Awards, with each claiming five awards at the Creative Fiction Storytelling gala.

Season two of CTV drama Cardinal (Sienna Films, eOne) won the best limited series category, fending off competition from Second Opinion (Incendo), Caught (Take the Shot) and The Indian Detective (Big Light Productions, Blue Ice Pictures, Wonder Films).

Cardinal also won prizes for Best Writing, Drama Program or Limited Series (Sarah Dodd), Best Direction, Drama Program or Limited Series (Jeff Renfroe), Best Picture Editing, Drama (Matthew Anas) and Best Original Music, Fiction (Todor Kobakov).

Meanwhile, Anne With an E received a pair of acting prizes – one for R.H. Thomson, who won best supporting actor in a drama, and another for Geraldine James, who won best supporting actress in a drama – as well as the award for best photography in a drama (Jackson Parrell). The CBC and Netflix series (Northwood Entertainment) also won best achievement in hair (Zinka Tuminski) and best production design, fiction (Jean-Francois Campeau, Andrew Barry, Elliott Carew).

In the children’s content categories, series airing on TVO claimed a trio of high-profile honours, with Dino Dana (Sinking Ship Entertainment) winning best pre-school series, PAW Patrol (Spin Master) winning best animated series and Odd Squad (Sinking Ship) snagging the prize for best children’s or youth fiction series.

Meanwhile, in the best direction categories, Mary Kills People (Norma Bailey) won the drama category, while Hotel Transylvania: The Series (Robin Budd) won for animation, Odd Squad (J.J. Johnson) won for children’s and youth, Baroness von Sketch Show (Jordan Canning, Jeremy LaLonde) won for variety or sketch comedy and Letterkenny (Jacob Tierney) won comedy.

Baroness von Sketch, produced by Frantic Films, also won best sketch comedy; best picture editing, comedy; and best writing in a sketch comedy or variety show.

Meanwhile, New Metric Media-produced Letterkenny also won the prize for best photography in a comedy, as well as achievement in casting. Another New Metric series, Bad Blood, won the best writing in a drama prize for the episode “Who Are You?”.

Schitt’s Creek received the prize for Best Supporting or Guest Actor, Comedy for Noah Reid; and Best Supporting or Guest Actress, Comedy went to Emily Hampshire.

Elsewhere, Vikings episode “Moments of Vision” won the award for best visual effects and best sound, fiction.