Awards: Schitt’s Creek gets Critics’ Choice nod, UBCP/ACTRA winners

The CBC original is the first Canadian series to score a nomination in the comedy category, while a number of Canadian actors also earned film and TV nods.
Schitt's Creek

Schitt’s Creek has been nominated for the Critics’ Choice TV Awards for Best TV Comedy. The CBC series, which airs on Pop in the U.S., is the only Canadian series up for the award, competing against FX’s Atlanta, HBO’s Barry, NBC’s The Good Place, ABC’s The Middle, Amazon’s The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel, and Netflix’s The Kominsky Method and One Day at a Time.

This is the show’s first Critics’ Choice nomination and the first time a Canadian series has been nominated in the award show’s best comedy category. It comes on the heels of a successful 2018 in which it was greenlit to a fifth season, picked up for U.S. broadcast syndication by Lionsgate subsidiary Debmar-Mercury and began streaming on Netflix in the U.S.  Playback also named the series as its 2018 Show of the Year.

A number of Canadian-born actors have also scored nominations. On the film side, Ryan Gosling has been nominated for Best Actor for First Man, Ryan Reynolds for Best Actor in a Comedy for Deadpool 2, Rachel McAdams for Best Actress in a Comedy for Game Night. For TV, Sandra Oh scored a nomination for Killing Eve.

UBCP/ACTRA Awards winners

The Union of British Columbia Performers (UBCP) announced the winners of the annual UBCP/ACTRA Awards on Dec. 8. Among the winner was actor Jennifer Clement (Diary of a Wimpy Kid), who was honoured with the Lorena Gale Woman of Distinction Award, while stunt coordinator and director Lauro Chartrand-DelValle was presented with the John Juliani Award of Excellence.

Additional winners include Bob Frazer for Best Actor in the Canadian film The Cannon, Karin Konoval for Best Actress in The X-Files, Daniel Doheny for Best Emerging Performer in the Canadian/U.S. copro Adventures in Public School, and Sabrina Pitre for Best Voice in the Canadian animation Chuck’s Choice. Stunt coordinator Brett Chan and stunt performers Gerald Paetz, Andrew Chin and Mark Chin were awarded Best Stunt for their work in Darc.

Updated at 12:30 PM