WGC names Dennis Heaton new president

The Vancouver-based showrunner replaces outgoing president Jill Golick, whose term expired last week.

The Writers Guild of Canada (WGC) has elected Dennis Heaton (pictured) as its new president.

The Vancouver-based writer/producer has been elected on a two-year term, which expires on April 30, 2020. He replaces outgoing president Jill Golick, whose term expired last week. Heaton has been a member of the WGC since 2001 and has also served on the WGC’s council since 2012.

“We’re very excited to work with Dennis,” says WGC executive director Maureen Parker. “His showrunning experience will hold us in good stead as we go into Independent Production Agreement bargaining within the next year.”

Heaton’s writing and production credits include the police procedural Motive, half-hour comedy Call Me Fitz and sci-fi series Ghost Wars. He is currently serving as showrunner on the Netflix sci-fi series The Order, which he created and wrote alongside Shelley Eriksen (Private Eyes). Last year, he led the story room for the 2017 Bell Media Prime Time TV Program.

“I’m looking forward to building on the Guild’s past successes, as well as facing the challenges ahead,” said Heaton in a statement.

As well as naming Heaton as president, the writers guild also announced the names of those elected to its council, which is responsible for setting policies and overseeing WGC activities. Members of the council are Andrew Wreggitt (Mayerthorpe), who will serve as VP; Mark Ellis (X Company), who will serve as treasurer; as well as Marsha Greene (Mary Kills People), Alex Levine (Orphan Black), Anne-Marie Perrotta (Max & Ruby) and Michael Amo (Pure).