Canadian Cinema Editors unveil 2018 nominees

Editors behind Unarmed Verses (pictured), Cardinal, Kim's Convenience and 22 Chaser are among those in the running for prizes.

Editors behind projects such as CardinalKim’s ConvenienceUnarmed Verses22 Chaser and Top Chef Canada: All Stars are among those vying for prizes at the 2018 Canadian Cinema Editors (CCE) awards.

On the TV side, noms for best editing in a 30-minute scripted series went to Aren Hansen (Kim’s Convenience episode “Janet’s Boyfriend”), Ehren Davis and Dean Soltys (Mr.D, “Insiders Look”), Gordon Rempel (Mech-X4, “Vs the Dark Night”), Robert de Lint (Kim’s Convenience, “A Handy Graduation”) and Trevor Ambrose (Schitt’s Creek, “Singles Week”).

For best editing in an MOW or miniseries, Cardinal and Mary Kills People received two nominations each. Daniel Sadler received a nom for his work on Cardinal episode “Red” while Matthew Anas was nominated for “Toof.” Duncan Christie got a nod for Mary Kills People episode “Fatal Flaw” and Lisa Grootenboer for “The Means.” Also nominated in the category was Ron Wisman for Flint.

Meanwhile, nominees in the hour-long scripted bracket are Aaron Marshall (Vikings, “Moments of Vision”), Christopher Donaldson (The Handmaid’s Tale, “Birth Day”), D. Gillian Truster (Anne, “Remorse is the Poison of Life), Jay Prychidny (Orphan Black, “To Right the Wrongs of Many”) and Wendy Hallam Martin (The Handmaid’s Tale, “Late”).

Culinary series dominated the Reality/Competition/Lifestyle series category, with the editing teams behind Top Chef Canada: All Stars episodes “Lock It Up! It’s the Finale!”, “All-Stars Assemble” and “Ice Cream, You Scream, All Aboard!” picking up three of the five nominations. Other noms in the category went to the teams behind Masterchef Canada episode “Auberge Anniversary” and The Amazing Race Canada episode “Who Wants To Be The Python?”

In the category for best docudrama or docuseries, Rob Chandler (Mayday, “Explosive Proof”) was nominated alongside Cathy Gulkin and Paul Winestock (We Are Canada, episode five), Greg Ng (The Wrestlers, “The Next Wave of Mexican Luchadores”), James Yates (Arctic Secrets, “Rhythm of the Bay”) and Steven Budd and Ben Kaplan (Tattoo Age, “Ed Hardy”).

On the film side, Chris Mutton & Erin Gulas (Luba), Duff Smith (Sweet Virginia), Isabelle Malenfant (Pieds nus dans l’aube), Jane MacRae and Kye Meechan (22 Chaser) and Michael Pierro (Room For Rent) are nominated in the best feature film category, while Andres Landau (Unarmed Verses), Cathy Gulkin (In The Name of Your Daughter), Eamonn O’Connor (My Enemy, My Brother), Jean-Denis Rouette (Shut Up And Say Something) and Hart Snider and J.R. Mackie (I Am Heath Ledger) are in the running for prizes in the best feature-length documentary category.

In the animation category, Annellie Samuel (Magic School Bus, Rides Again, “Space Mission Selfie”) is nominated alongside Dan Lee, Noah Yates and Doug Appeldoorn (Wishfart, “We Can Eat Sand/We Are Cheetah Face”), Paul Hunter and Lesley Mackay Hunter (The Nut Job 2), Pete Watson, Jon Hutton and Vish Hansa (Napkin Man, “Go With The Flow”) and Stephanie Duncan, Jason Cohen and Lee Maund (Hotel Transylvania, “Adventures in Vampiresitting”).

In the shorts categories, Alan Flett (Inseparable: Ten Years Joined At The Head), Katie Chipperfield (NUUCA: Field of Vision), Luke Sargent (The Love Songs of Oedipus Rex), Thom Smalley (Prince’s Tale) and Tiffany Beaudin (On My Way Out: The Secret Life of Nani and Popi) received nominations for best editing in a short doc. Best short film nominations went to Alexander Farah and Paolo Kalalo (Cypher), Holly Pavlik (The Ultimate Thief), Lisa Jane Robison (The Black Ghiandola), Maureen Grant (L’Audition) and Mike Banas (It’s Not What you Know).

The eighth annual Canadian Cinema Editors (CCE) awards ceremony takes place on May 31.