CSAs ’18: Maudie tops film awards with seven wins

On the TV side, CBC also had a big night with wins for Kim's Convenience, Alias Grace and Anne.

Nova Scotia-set feature Maudie emerged as the big winner during Sunday night’s CSAs broadcast gala, snatching seven awards including best picture, best direction, best original screenplay and best actor prizes for its leads Sally Hawkins and Ethan Hawke.

In the best picture category, Canada/Ireland coproduction Maudie (Painted House Films/Small Shack Films/Parallel Productions) bested fellow nominees Les Affames (“The Ravenous”), Never Steady, Never Still, La petite fille qui aimait trop les allumettes (“The Little Girl Who Was Too Fond of Matches”), C’est le cœur qui meurt en dernier (“C’est le cœur qui meurt en dernier”), The Breadwinner and Ava.

On the night, the Newfoundland-shot film converted seven nominations into seven wins, also earning a best original screenplay award for Sherry White and a best direction prize for Aisling Walsh, as well taking top honours for costume design (Trysha Bakker) and editing (Stephen O’Connell). In addition, Hawkins, who was nominated for an Oscar for her role in Guillermo del Toro’s Toronto-shot The Shape of Water, won best actress in a leading role while Hawke won best actor in a supporting role.

Following a number of successful partnerships between Canadian and Irish producers in recent years, including Saoirse Ronan-starrer Brooklyn (Ireland/Canada/U.K.), producer Mary Young Leckie said she believes a pipeline of other fruitful coproductions are forthcoming. “Between the storytelling styles in Canada and Ireland, it’s kind of a mutual love affair. I think in the future you’re going to see many more of them because we share a love of good storytelling, brilliant acting and beautiful images.”

The evening also saw François Girard’s Hochelaga, Land of Souls (Max Films) and Nora Twomey-directed The Breadwinner claim four awards apiece. Hochelaga took home prizes for best overall sound, visual effects, cinematography and art direction/production design, while The Breadwinner, based on Deborah Ellis’ novel of the same name, won best adapted screenplay (Anita Doron), best original score (Mychael Danna, Jeff Danna), best original song (Qais Essar, Joshua Hill) and best sound editing (Nelson Ferreira, John Elliot, J.R. Fountain, Dashen Naidoo, Tyler Whitman).

In the non-fiction categories for feature film, Rumble: The Indians Who Rocked the World (Rezolution Pictures) snagged a trio of prizes. The feature-length doc won the Ted Rogers Best Feature Length Documentary, as well as best cinematography in a feature doc (Alfonso Maiorana) and best editing in a feature doc (Benjamin Duffield, Jeremiah Hayes). The prize for best short doc went to Take a Walk on The Wildside (Lifted Eyes Media).

Elsewhere, best actor in a leading role went to Nabil Rajo for his performance in Boost and best actress in a supporting role went to Bahar Nouhian for Ava.

Turning to TV, the Sunday gala was a big night for CBC properties, with Anne (Northwood Entertainment) fending off Mary Kills People, 19-2, Pure and Vikings to win best drama series, Kim’s Convenience (Thunderbird Entertainment) besting Letterkenny, nirvanna the band the show, Michael: Every Day and Workin’ Moms to win best comedy series and Alias Grace (Halfire Entertainment) winning the award for best limited series ahead of The Disappearance, Cardinal, The Kennedys: After Camelot and Bruno and Boots: This Can’t Be Happening at Macdonald Hall.

As well, CBC’s The Secret Path won the Donald Brittain Award for Best Social/Political Documentary Program, while CTV’s The Amazing Race Canada (Insight Productions) won the prize for Best Reality/Competition Program or Series.

Meanwhile, in the TV acting categories, Orphan Black‘s Tatiana Maslany won best actress in a drama and Vikings‘ Alexander Ludwig won best actor in a drama, while Billy Campbell won best actor in a drama/limited series for his role in Cardinal (Sienna/eOne) and Sarah Gadon won best actress in the same category for Alias Grace.

The comedy categories for acting were also dominated by CBC, with Kim’s Convenience‘s Paul Sun-Hyung Lee winning best actor, Schitt’s Creek‘s Catherine O’Hara nabbing best actress and the team fronting Baroness von Sketch Show (Carolyn Taylor, Meredith MacNeill, Aurora Browne, Jennifer Whalen) winning best performance in a sketch comedy.

Following his win for best comedic actor, Paul Sun-Hyung Lee, who won the prize for the second consecutive year, called for more on-screen diversity. “A show like Kim’s Convenience is proof that representation matters, because when communities and people see themselves reflected on screen it’s an inspiring and powerful moment for them. It means they’ve been moved from the margins into the forefront and it gives them a voice. When you give people a voice, other people start listening and when people start listening, things start to change.”