Canadian animated films vie for Oscar noms

The Breadwinner pic
The Breadwinner and Window Horses: The Poetic Persian Epiphany of Rosie Ming are among 26 titles submitted in the animated feature film category.

Canadian features The Breadwinner (pictured) and Window Horses: The Poetic Persian Epiphany of Rosie Ming are among 26 projects submitted for consideration in the animated feature film category at the 90th Academy Awards.

The films were named alongside projects such as Vincent van Gogh biographical animation Loving Vincent (Poland, U.K.), comedy The Big Bad Fox & Other Tales (France) and the action adventure The Lego Batman Movie (U.S., Denmark).

The Breadwinner, a coproduction from Toronto’s Aircraft Pictures, Ireland’s Cartoon Saloon and Luxembourg’s Melusine Productions, made its world premiere in the special presentations program at TIFF ’17. Voiced by Saara Chaudry (Max & Shred), Soma Bhatia (Degrassi: Next Class), Laara Sadiq (Remedy) and Ali Badshah (The Cat In The Hat), the project is an adaptation of Canadian author Deborah Ellis’s novel about a young girl who disguises herself as a boy in order to become her family’s main income earner. In Canada, the Nora Twomey-directed film is distributed by Elevation Pictures. Angelina Jolie Pitt’s Jolie Pas Productions is exec producing the project.

Window Horses meanwhile made its world premiere in competition at the 2016 Annecy International Animated Film Festival. Written and directed by Vancouver-based Ann Marie Fleming, the project is voiced by Sandra Oh, Don McKellar, Ellen Page and Kristen Thomson and tells the story of a closet poet invited to take part in a poetry festival in Shiraz, Iran. The film is produced by the NFB’s Shirley Vercruysse and Michael Fukushima and Fleming’s prodco Stick Girl Productions. Mongrel Media is handling distribution in Canada.

Films that are nominated in the Animated Feature Film category are also eligible for nomination in other categories. The official nominations will be unveiled on Jan. 23, 2018, with the winners being announced at the 2018 Academy Awards on March 4.