DGC unveils Discovery Award nominees

Fifteen filmmakers have made the long list for the prize, which celebrates emerging talent.
A Worthy Companion

Fifteen filmmakers have been nominated for the Directors Guild of Canada’s second annual Discovery Award, which celebrates emerging talents.

Announced at eOne headquarters in Toronto on Sept. 5, the nominees were presented by DGC national directors division chair Warren P. Sonoda and jury chair Ingrid Veninger.

This year’s nominees are Carlos and Jason Sanchez (A Worthy Companion, pictured), Sadaf Foroughi (AVA), Cory Bowles (Black Cop), Cody Brown (Gregoire), Stephen S. Campanelli (Indian Horse), Wayne Wapeemukwa (Luk’Luk’I), Kathleen Hepburn (Never Steady, Never Still), Kyle Rideout (Public Schooled), Jordan Canning (Suck It Up), Jamie M. Dagg (Sweet Virginia), Seth Smith (The Crescent), Sophie Goyette (Still Night, Still Light), Winston DeGiobbi (Mass for Shut-Ins), Sofia Bohdanowicz (Maison du Bonheur) and Ian Lagarde (All You Can Eat Buddha).

This year’s winner will be selected by a jury including last year’s winner, Chloé Leriche (Avant Les Rues), as well as Stephen Dunn (Closet Monster), Kevan Funk (Hello Destroyer), Johnny Ma (Old Stone) and Ashley McKenzie (Werewolf).

The winner will be presented at the 16th annual DGC Awards on Oct. 28, hosted by Mary Walsh, at The Carlu in Toronto.

Image courtesy of TIFF