Who won big at the WGC Awards?

X Company, Letterkenny and Maudie scribes nabbed some hardware at the annual Writers Guild of Canada gala. Check out who else picked up a trophy.

The duos of Stephanie Morgenstern/Mark Ellis and Jared Keeso/Jacob Tierney were among the winners at the Writers Guild of Canada’s 21st annual awards gala, held Monday night at Koerner Hall in Toronto.

Morgenstern and Ellis (pictured) won the best TV drama prize for X Company episode “August 19th,” while Keeso and Tierney won the best TV comedy award for the Letterkenny episode “Super Soft Birthday.”

During their acceptance speech, Ellis and Morgenstern dedicated the award to Canadian screenwriter and X Company scribe Denis McGrath, who passed away last month. “We would like to dedicate this award to Denis McGrath who has not only been a friend for decades, and a creative collaborator in many ways, he’s also been a champion of not just this story, but of all Canadian stories,” said Ellis.

Other TV prizes handed out included the best script from a rookie series award, which went to the Wynonna Earp episode “Bury Me With My Guns On,” written by Alexandra Zarowny. The Odd Squad season-two episode “Drop Gadget Repeat,” written by Tim McKeon, won in the children’s category, while Degrassi: Next Class episode “#TeamFollowBack” won the tweens and teens category.

In the film section, Sherry White-penned feature Maudie took home the prize, besting the category’s other nominees, Kim Nguyen’s Two Lovers and a Bear and Tony Elliott’s ARQ.

Adam Barken was also among the winners on the night, picking up the best MOW/miniseries award his work on Bruno & Boots: Go Jump in the Pool, produced by Aircraft Pictures. Barken

Meanwhile, Quebec My Country Mon Pays, written by John Walker, won the best writing in a documentary prize. 

In addition, the WGC presented a number of special awards: Aaron Martin (Slasher) won the WGC Showrunner Award and Daniel Whidden was presented with the Jim Burt Screenwriting Prize for Valhalla. Diana Frances picked up the Sondra Kelly Award, which provides $5,000 to women screenwriters in mid-career for research and development, for her project Given Up.

In the final presentation of the evening, Andrew Wreggitt (Corner Gas: The MovieNorth of 60, Heartland) won the newly named Denis McGrath Award for Service to the WGC. Formerly known as the Writers Block Award, the special award recognizes outstanding service to the WGC.