WIFT-T names 2016 Crystal Awards winners

Tracey Pearce (pictured) and Barbara Bailie are among those to be recognized for their contributions to film, TV and digital media.

Tracey PearceWomen in Film and Television – Toronto has named the recipients for the 2016 Crystal Awards, with Michelle Crespi, Barbara Bailie, Deborah Osborne, Tracey Pearce and Patricia Ellingson set to collect awards on Dec. 6.

The awards recognize the winner’s contributions to the TV, film and digital media sectors.

Crespi, who serves as an executive producer on The Marilyn Denis Show and The Social, will receive the Creative Excellence Award.

DHX Media’s director of application solutions Barbara Bailie as been named the the Digital Trailblazer Award winner. Bailie is the former director of digital at Astral (2001-2013), where she oversaw digital strategy and production on channels such as HBO Canada and The Movie Network.

Long-time production executive Deborah Osborne was named as the recipient of the Mentorship Award. Most recently serving as the CBC’s production planning executive, finance and strategy, English-language TV services, Osborne has also held leadership roles in training programs for Banff World Media Festival, NSI, DGC and ACCT.

Tracey Pearce, president, distribution and pay, Bell Media, meanwhile, will receive the Outstanding Achievement in Business Award. Pearce joined Bell Media in 2001 and has previously held the roles of SVP, specialty and pay, and SVP, business and legal affairs within the media company.

Patricia Ellingson, who spent 20 years with pubcaster TVO, will receive the Special Jury Award of Distinction. Ellingson served as TVO’s creative head of children’s and parent’s media from 1998 to 2015 before announcing her retirement early last year.

The jury selecting this year’s winners consisted of Sally Catto, general manager, programming, CBC; Dianne Schwalm, VP development, New Franchise Media and Anne Marie La Traverse, president, Pink Sky Entertainment.

The 29th annual Crystal Awards gala will take place Dec. 6 at the Arcadian Court in Toronto.