Hyena Road, Vikings win at DGC Awards

Orphan Black and Schitt's Creek were among the projects that picked up prizes at the directors' gala on Saturday.
hyena road

The 15th annual Directors Guild of Canada Awards took place at The Carlu in Toronto this weekend, with Hyena Road, Vikings and Orphan Black all taking home prizes.

Seventeen awards were handed out Saturday at a ceremony hosted by Arisa Cox.

For directorial achievement in film, Paul Gross won in the feature category for Hyena Road, Kari Skogland was awarded in the TV movie/mini-series category for Sons of Liberty and Patrick Reed and Michelle Shephard’s Guantanamo’s Child: Omar Khadr tied for the Allan King Award for Excellence in Documentary with Charles Wilkinson’s Haida Gwaii: On the Edge of the World. Best Short Film went to Vivieno Caldinelli for Portal to Hell!!!

On the TV front, Helen Shaver won the dramatic series award for the Vikings episode “Born Again,” while Jerry Ciccoritti won in the comedy series category for the Schitt’s Creek episode “Moira’s Nudes,” and Bruce McDonald picked up the award for direction of a family series for the Heartland episode “Before the Darkness.”

Production design awards were handed out to Rob Gray for Sons of Liberty in the movies for TV and mini-series category, and John Dondertman took home the prize in the TV series category for Orphan Black‘s “Certain Agony of the Battlefield.”

Picture Editing awards went to Matthew Hannam for the feature Into the Forest, Ron Wisman Sr. and Ron Wisman Jr. won for The Secret Life of Marilyn Monroe in the movies for TV and mini-series category, and D. Gillian Truster was awarded in the TV series category for Orphan Black‘s “Scarred by Many Past Frustrations.”

In the feature category, Best Sound Editing went to the team behind Hyena Road, with The Secret Life of Marilyn Monroe‘s team winning for TV movies and mini-series, and The Expanse episode “The Big Empty” winning in the TV category.

As previously announced, the DGC handed out four special awards, including a Lifetime Achievement Award to director Anne Wheeler, the distinguished service award to Manny Danelon, the honourary life member award to Trina McQueen and the Discovery Award to Chloé Leriche for Avant les rues.