TIFF ’16: Those Who Make Revolution wins best Canadian feature prize

The 183-minute feature film (pictured) was one of three Canadian films to receive awards as the 41st edition of the festival closed Sunday.

The 41st edition of the Toronto International Film Festival came to a close on Sunday, with Johnny Ma’s Old Stone and Mathieu Denis and Simon Lavoie’s Those Who Make Revolution Halfway Only Dig Their Own Graves among the Canadian films to pick up awards.

Chinese-language feature Old Stone (“Lao Shi”), which world premiered in the Discovery program, won the City of Toronto Award for Best Canadian First Feature Film, while 183-minute feature Those Who Make Revolution (“Ceux qui font les révolutions à moitié n’ont fait que se creuser un tombeau”), which made its world bow in the Platform program, claimed the Canada Goose Award for Best Canadian Feature Film.

The films also claimed cash prizes of $15,000 and $30,000, respectively.

The jury for the Canadian awards, which consisted of producers Luc Déry (Incendies, Monsieur Lazhar) and Anita Lee (Stories We Tell, Invention), filmmaker Mina Shum (Double Happiness, Ninth Floor) and cultural critic and novelist Hal Niedzviecki, also gave honourable mentions to Or Sinai’s Anna and Orlando von Einsiedel’s The White Helmets.

Alexandre Dostie’s Mutants was the other Canadian feature to collect a prize, winning the Short Cuts Award for Best Canadian Short Film and a $10,000 cash prize. The Short Cuts Award for Best Short Film, which also carries a $10,000 prize, was handed to Imago, from director Raymund Ribay Gutierrez.

The Grolsch People’s Choice Award, voted upon by festival audiences, was awarded to Damien Chazelle’s La La Land, with Garth Davis’s Lion and Mira Nair’s Queen of Katwe taking the first and second runner up places, respectively. Previous winners of the prize include Ireland/Canada copro Room, which took the award last year, as well as 12 Years A Slave and Slumdog Millionaire.

The Grolsch People’s Choice Midnight Madness Award went to Ben Wheatley’s Free Fire, while the first runner up spot went to André Øvredal’s horror feature The Autopsy of Jane Doe, which was acquired by Raven Banner during the festival. 

Elsewhere, Raoul Peck’s I Am Not Your Negro won the Grolsch People’s Choice Documentary Award, with Steve James’ ABACUS: Small Enough to Jail taking the first runner up spot; Pablo Larraín’s Jackie won the Toronto Platform Prize; Yanillys Perez’s Jeffrey picked up the Dropbox Discovery Programme Filmmakers Award and Maysaloun Hamoud’s In Between (“Bar Bahar”) won the NETPAC Award for World or International Asian Film Premiere prize.

Mbithi Masya for Kati Kati meanwhile picked up the Discovery program’s Prize of the International Federation of Film Critics (FIPRESCI) prize, while Feng Xiaogang’s I Am Not Madame Bovary won the FIPRESCI award for the Special Presentations program.