CMPA to recognize emerging talent at annual awards

The new prize will join the Established Producer award, for which the 2016 nominees have been announced.

shutterstock_award nominees

The Canadian Media Producers Association (CMPA) has unveiled the nominees for its Feature Film Producer Awards, and has this year added a prize for up-and-coming talent.

The new Emerging Producer Award will recognize one rising producing talent, who will be awarded $5,000. The Established Producer Award recognizes a producer for his or her entire body of work, with the winner receiving a $10,000 cash prize.

To be eligible for the awards, producers must have a film screening at the Toronto International Film Festival this year. Winners will be awarded at a reception held on Sept. 8 to mark the launch of the 2016 edition of TIFF.

The Emerging Producer Award nominees are Jonathan Frantz, Kingulliit Productions (Maliglutit); Fanny-Laure Malo, La Boîte à Fanny (Boundaries); and Hany Ouichou, Art & Essai (Those Who Make Revolution Halfway Only Dig Their Own Graves, Prank).

The Established Producer Award nominees are Roger Frappier, Max Films (Two Lovers and a Bear); Peter Raymont, White Pine Pictures (All Governments Lie: Truth, Deception and the Spirit of I.F. Stone); Nicholas de Pencier, Mercury Films Inc. (Black Code); David Hamilton, Hamilton-Mehta Productions (Anatomy of Violence); and Nicole Robert, Go Films (Nelly).

Image via Shutterstock