Motive takes best drama at B.C.’s Leos

The outgoing CTV series joined The Romeo Section and 19-2 for scripted TV awards, while The Devout took best film and Sports On Fire best doc series.

motive cast season four 2016British Columbia’s gala awards weekend saw Motive take top honours in the Drama category, with The Romeo Section and 19-2 both taking home trophies as well.

Motive, the Lark Productions/Foundation Features series that ends its four-season run this year, was named best drama on the Leo’s second night of prize-giving, while other wins in the category included David Frazee’s win for best drama director for The Romeo Section episode “Elephant Faces East” and Jesse McKeown’s win for best drama screenwriter for the 19-2 episode “Orphans.”

Best MOW went to On the Farm from producer Rupert Harvey, while best director in the category went to Peter DeLuise for R. L. Stine’s Monsterville: The Cabinet Of Souls, and best animation program went to Slap Happy Cartoons’ Nerds and Monsters. Also on the kids side, Splitting Adam took home a Leo for best kids series or program.

On the film side, best picture went to The Devout (producers Amanda Verhagen, Daniel Hogg), while best director went to Siobhan Devine for The Birdwatcher. Best feature documentary went to Network Entertainment’s Johnny Cash: American Rebel while best short doc went to Sonic Magic: The Wonder and Science of Sound (producers Terence McKeown, Bette Thompson). Best short went to Never Steady, Never Still, from writer-director Kathleen Hepburn.

jared keeso 19-2 season twoOn the factual side, best documentary series went to Project 10 Productions and Two 4 The Money Media’s HBO Canada series Sports on Fire, while Telus Storyhive web series Hand Crafted, produced by Greg Bartels, Andrew Muir, Andrew Millard, took home Best Information, Lifestyle or Reality Series. CBC concert special John Mann Here and Now took home the top prize in the Best Music, Comedy or Variety Program or Series category.

Talent-wise, best TV drama performances went to Jared Keeso in 19-2 (pictured right) and Carmen Moore for Blackstone, while the top feature film lead-role trophies went to Charlie Carrick and Ali Liebert, both for The Devout.