Canadian Cinema Editors reveals 2016 award nominees

Among the editors nominated are Bryan Atkinson for Closet Monster and Maureen Grant for He Hated Pigeons.

he hated pigeons

Bryan Atkinson of Closet Monster and Maureen Grant of He Hated Pigeons are among the nominees for the sixth edition of the Canadian Cinema Editors (CCE) Awards.

Atkinson and Grant were nominated alongside Mike Banas (The Legend of Barney Thompson), Duff Smith (River) and Jorge Weisz (The Steps) in the Best Editing in Feature Film category.

The winners in each of the 11 categories, announced Monday by the CCE, will be presented with their awards at a ceremony at the Delta Toronto hotel on June 2.

Nods for best editing in a one-hour scripted show went to episodes from Matthew Anas (Orphan Black, “Newer Elements of our Defense”), Michael Doherty  (Hannibal, “Antipasto”), Teresa Hannigan (Saving Hope, “All the Pretty Horses”), Thomas Joerin, (Remedy II, “Day One”) and Stephen Philipson (Hannibal, “Dolce”).

In the short film category, Jamie Alain (The Adept), Courtney Goldman (My Viola), Stéphane Lafleur (O Negative), Ben Lawrence (I Remember Laura) and Michelle Szemberg (Mr Bernstein) all received nominations. In the feature documentary section, Cathy Gulkin (Guantanamo’s Child); Michèle Hozer (Sugar Coated); Nick Taylor (Al Purdy was Here); Eamonn O’Connor, Carole Larsen and Sally Blake (The Messenger); and Robert Swartz (Hurt) received noms.

Up for the best editing in an animation prize are Tom Berger (PAW Patrol, “Pups Save A Big Bone”); Robert Ciasnocha and Simon Box (Fresh Beat Band of Spies, “Singing Pirate”); Stephanie Duncan, Joycelyn Poon  and Lee Maund (Trucktown, “Trucktown Run”); Sam Thomson (The Curse of Clara, “A Holiday Tale”); and Pete Watson (Napkin Man, “New Shoes”).

In the best editing in a short doc category, there were nominations for Tiffany Beaudin (Claude Lanzmann: Spectres of the Shoah), Kathryn Dickson (The Woman Who Joined The Taliban), Mark Holtz (American Lawmen: Melvin Purvis Gang Buster), Jason Schneider (Keeping Canada Alive, episode one) and Sarah Taylor (The Harder I Fight II).

Best editing nominations for 30-minute scripted series went to Jonathan Eagan (What Would Sal Do, “Loaves and Fishes”), Paul Hart and Paul Hessell (High Valley Home Movie), Jorge Parra (Still Standing, “Eganville”), Jay Prychidny (Lost and Found) and Paul Winestock (Blood Water, episode one).

Meanwhile, in the lifestyle/docu-drama category, Alison Taylor (Open House Overhaul, episode 1011); Neil Sitka and Miles Davren (Vegas Rat Rods, episode 201); Kristi Macaulay (Income Property, episode 9146); Duff Smith (Reelside, episode 103); and Jonathan Dowler, James Hebbard and Craig Anderson (Hockey Wives, episode 106) also received nominations.

The reality/competition category saw episodes edited by Jorge Parra (Buy It, Fix It, Sell It, “Pull the Rug”); Brent J. Rubin  (Game of Homes, “Master Bedroom”); Jonathan Dowler, Ryan Montieth, Baun Mah and Al Manson (Big Brother Canada finale episode); and Steve Taylor, Michael Tersigni, Anna Bigos &  James Osso (The Amazing Race Canada, “I Said Straight, You Gorilla”) taking nominations.

Best editing for MOW/miniseries nominations went to Don Cassidy (Texas Rising), Lara Mazur (On the Farm), Dona Noga (Hello It’s Me), Ron Wisman and Ron Wisman Jr. (Secret Life of Marilyn Monroe) and  Ron Wisman (Anne of Green Gables). Web series nominations went to Bryan Atkinson (Riftworld Chronicles, episode three); Nicolas Wong (We Are Disorderly, “Our New Friend”); and Neil Sitka, Joel Shecter, Vitold Vidic and Ian Morehead (How Hard Can It Be). Also in the web series category, Elad Tzadok picked up separate nominations for his work on The Drive episodes four and seven.