Schitt’s Creek, Room lead CSA nominations

The CBC comedy received 14 TV nominations while Room received the most film nods with 11. (Schitt's Creek pictured.)

With 14 nominations, CBC’s Schitt’s Creek leads the TV nomination race for the 2016 Canadian Screen Awards, with the Canada/Ireland copro Room leading the film pack with 11 nominations.

Schitt’s Creek - which earned a Best Comedy Series nod, as well as writing and acting noms for Dan Levy – received one more nomination than Bell Media’s Orphan Black, which was notably absent from the Best Dramatic Series nominations list after leading the field for two years. The series did pick up nominations for best direction, best visual effects and a best performance for Tatiana Maslany.

The nominations were announced Tuesday at a press event from Toronto’s TIFF Bell Lightbox, with Aislinn Paul (Degrassi: The Next Generation) and Lyriq Bent (The Book of Negroes) revealing the nominees in each category.

The five shows chosen to vie for the Best Dramatic Series are 19-2, Blackstone, Motive, Saving Hope and X Company, with Best Comedy Series nominations for Mr. D, Mohawk Girls, Schitt’s Creek, Tiny Plastic Men and Young Drunk Punk.

Tied with 12 nominations apiece were Mr. D and 19-2, while Conquering Lion miniseries The Book of Negroes got 11 nods including a Best Direction in a Dramatic Program or Limited Series nomination for Clement Virgo.

Police procedural Motive meanwhile picked up nine nominations, among them a nod for Best Dramatic Series, while CBC News: The National  and X Company were tied on eight. Elsewhere, CBC’s 2015 Pan Am Games and the fifth estate, and CBC/Rogers Young Drunk Punk each received seven nominations.

In the digital media categories, The Book of Negroes Interactive, Murdoch Mysteries: The Infernal DeviceSchitt’s Creek Webisodes and Corner Gas: The Movie’s digital component were all nominated in the Best Cross-Platform Project – Fiction category. CBC’s  Missing and Murdered Indigenous Women, Dino Hunt Canada Interactive, Dive Deeper, Favela Hunter and Great Human Odyssey Interactive will contest the Best Cross-Platform Project – Non-fiction category.

The Canada/Ireland copro Room continues its hot streak on the awards circuit, picking up Screenie nominations across 11 categories including Best Motion Picture, Achievement in Art Direction, Adapted Screenplay and best performance nods for Brie Larson and Canadian actor Jacob Tremblay’s work in the film.

Other features up for best picture include Corbo, Felix and Meira, The Forbidden Room, My Internship in Canada, Our Loved Ones, Remember, Sleeping Giant and the Ireland/U.K./Canada copro Brooklyn. Lenny Abrahamson (Room), Philippe Lesage (The Demons), Maxime Giroux (Felix and Meira) and Andrew Cividino (Sleeping Giant) all received nods in the Achievement in Direction category.

Outside of Room, other films receiving multiple nominations include Hyena Road with eight nods, Our Loved Ones with seven and Endorphine, Felix and Meira and Foresaken with five nominations each. My Internship in Canada, Remember and Sleeping Giant all received four nominations, with Beeba Boys, Corbo, The Forbidden Room, Brooklyn, Adrien, Last of the Elephant Men and Songs She Wrote About People She Knows all earning three nominations apiece. On the doc side, best feature length documentary nominations were given to The Amina Profile, Hadwin’s Judgement, How to Change The World, Hurt and Last of the Elephant Men.

This year’s CSA nominations press event also featured the presentation of an Academy Special award. The Academy presented its new Discovery Award, sponsored by Telefilm Canada’s Talent Fund program, to the team behind Mina Walking. The prize was accepted by director Yosef Baraki and producers Andrew Korogyi and Asef Baraki.

The award is meant to recognize emerging talent who have taken their films on the festival circuit, but have not yet had their project released theatrically. The Talent Fund supports micro-budget films with a budget of less than $250,000.

The winners of the Canadian Screen Awards will be named over the course of three galas, with the final broadcast gala to be held on Sunday, March 13 at the Sony Centre for the Performing Arts.

Updated: 12:12 p.m. Tuesday, Jan. 19