Vancouver Film Critics Circle announces nominations

Guy Maddin and Evan Johnson's The Forbidden Room (pictured) was one of three films nominated for the best Canadian film prize.

the forbidden roomThe Vancouver Film Critics Circle (VFCC) has announced its 2016 nominees, with Room, Sleeping Giant and The Forbidden Room competing for the best Canadian film prize.

With 10 categories for the Canadian prizes and nine for the international awards, the latter will be announced on Dec. 21  while the Canadian prizes will be announced at the VFCC’s awards ceremony on Jan. 6, 2016.

The nominations for best screenplay for a Canadian film went to Benjamin August for Remember, Andrew Cividino, Blain Watters and Aaron Yeger for Sleeping Giant and Emma Donoghue for Room, while Lenny Abrahamson (Room), Atom Egoyan (Remember) and Andrew Cividino (Sleeping Giant) were all nominated in the best director category for a Canadian film.

Actresses nominated for best performance in a Canadian film were Marie Brassard for Sabali, Brie Larson for Room and Julia Sarah Stone for Wet Bum, while actors Michael Eklund, Christopher Plummer and Jacob Tremblay received nods for their respective performances in Eadweard, Remember and Room.

Sleeping Giant picked up two nominations in the best supporting actor category, with Reece Moffett and Nick Serino both in the running alongside Patrick Huard from My Internship in Canada for the prize. Best supporting actress noms meanwhile went to Joan Allen (Room), Suzanne Clement (My Internship in Canada) and Tara Pratt (No Men Beyond This Point).

Up for the best Canadian doc prize are Haida Gwaii: On the Edge of the World, Fractured Land, How to Change the World and Hurt, while the best first feature by a Canadian director prize will be contested between Kurt Walker (Hit 2 Pass), Andrew Cividino (Sleeping Giant) and Lindsay Mackay (Wet Bum).

Eadweard, Haida Gwaii: On the Edge of the World and No Men Beyond This Point were nominated for the best B.C. film award, with the winner to receive a cash prize sponsored by the Canadian Media Production Association-BC Producers’ Branch and the Director’s Guild of Canada-BC Council.

In the international categories were Mad Max: Fury Road, The Revenant and Spotlight for best film, Leonardo DiCaprio (The Revenant), Michael Fassbender (Steve Jobs) and Eddie Redmayne (The Danish Girl) for best actor, Cate Blanchett (Carol), Brie Larson (Room) and Saoirse Ronan (Brooklyn) for best actress, and Todd Haynes (Carol), Alejandro González Iñárritu (The Revenant) and George Miller (Mad Max: Fury Road).