Highrise, Do Not Track land IDA award noms

How to Change the World (pictured) was also named the recipient of a special award presented by the International Documentary Association.

how to change the world

The National Film Board’s Highrise: Universe Within and Do Not Track, a copro between the NFB, France’s Upain  and Germany’s ARTE and BR  are among the nominees for the 2015 International Documentary (IDA) awards.

Highrise: Universe Within was executive produced by Anita Lee and Silva Basmajian. Do Not Track was executive produced by the NFB’s Hugues Sweeney. Both recieved nominations in the Best Short Form Series category. Adam Benzine’s Claude Lanzmann: Spectres of the Shoah , a Canada/U.S./U.K. copro, also received a nomination in the Best Short category.

The U.K./Canada copro How to Change the World, directed by Jerry Rothwell with Insight Productions’ John Murray serving as supervising producer, will also be presented with the Pare Lorentz Award, which recognizes films that feature exemplary filmmakers woth a docus on the environment and social issues.

Docs competing in the Best Feature Award category are  Joshua Oppenheimer’s The Look of Silence (pictured), Asif Kapadia’s Amy and Stanley Nelson’s The Black Panthers: Vanguard of the RevolutionStevan Riley’s Listen to Me Marlon, Chad Gracia’s The Russian Woodpecker and Liz Garbus‘ What Happened Miss Simone?

This year’s ceremony will be hosted by comedian and Transparent star Tig Notaro – also the subject of the recent Netflix documentary Tig –and will take place on December 5 at the Paramount Theatre in Los Angeles.

Short films nominated aside from Claude are David Darg’s Body Team 12, Kitty Green’s The Face of Ukraine: Casting Oksana Baiul, Paulina Skibi?ska’s Object and Dee Hibbert-Jones and Nomi Talisman’s Last Day of Freedom.

Winners in both categories are voted on by IDA members. Other category winners are determined by screening committees in New York, Toronto, Sheffield, Chicago, Los Angeles, San Francisco and Washington, DC.

The nominees for best series are ESPN’s ’30 For 30,’ ITVS and PBS doc strand ‘Independent Lens,’ PBS doc strand ‘POV,’ BBC doc strand ‘Storyville’ and World Channel’s ‘America ReFramed.’

Limited series nominated this year are Dutch network Vara Television’s Blood Brothers, Al Jazeera America’s Hard Earned, HBO’s The Jinx: The Life and Deaths of Robert Durst, Discovery Channel’s Life Story and Al Jazeera English’s Rebel Architecture.

In the episodic series category, Netflix’s Chef’s Table, CNN’s Morgan Spurlock Inside Man, PBS’ ‘NOVA,’ CNN’s The Seventies and CNN’s This is Life with Lisa Ling scored nods.

Cartel Land director Matthew Heineman will receive this year’s Courage Under Fire Award, which recognizes bravery in pursuit of truth.  

The IDA also hands out Creative Recognition Awards in various craft categories, which were revealed as the nominations for other categories were announced. This year, The Russian Woodpecker claimed the best cinematography prize, while Kurt Cobain: Montage of Heck earned best editing, Best of Enemies won best music and Listen to Me Marlon went home with best writing.

Finally, as previously reported, Kartemquin Films founder and artistic director Gordon Quinn will receive the Career Achievement Award and Tony Tabatznik and the Bertha Foundation will receive the IDA Amicus Award. Netflix chief Ted Sarandos will receive the Pioneer Award and (T)ERROR co-directors Lyric R. Cabral and David Felix Sutcliffe will share the Emerging Documentary Filmmaker Award.

This year’s ceremony will be hosted by comedian and Transparent star Tig Notaro – also the subject of the recent Netflix documentary Tig –and will take place on Dec. 5 at the Paramount Theatre in Los Angeles.

Visit documentary.org/awards for the full list of nominees.

- From Realscreen