Canadian Cinema Editors unveil 2015 award nominees

Schitt's Creek #1
Editors up for prizes for the fifth edition of the awards include Adam Locke-Norton for Mountain Men and Entangled, and Trevor Ambrose for Schitt's Creek (pictured).

Adam Locke-Norton of Mountain Men and Trevor Ambrose of Schitt’s Creek are among the nominees for the fifth annual Canadian Cinema Editors Awards, the organization announced Monday.

The awards will be presented in a gala ceremony on June 4 at the Delta Hotel in Toronto. The nominees are selected by a panel of editors, directors and other industry professionals.

In addition to Locke-Norton for Mountain Men, the Feature Film category nominees included Matthew Hannam for James White, Aaron Marshall for The Calling, Dev Singh for Backcountry and Jorge Weisz for Wet Bum. Two Documentary nominations went to Ricardo Acosta for 15 to Life and Marmato, with other nominations in the category going to Manfred Becker for Before the Last Curtain, Nick Hector for Monsoon and Haya Waseem for Stay Aubrey.

Locke-Norton was also nominated for his work on Entangled in the Short Film category. Other nominees in the race for that prize include Matthew Anas for Iris, Diane Brunjes for Happy 1 Year, Maureen Grant for Still and John Nicholls for The Last Halloween.

Along with Ambrose for Schitt’s Creek, the Half Hour category nominees include James Bredin for a separate episode of Schitt’s Creek, Matthew Hannam for Sensitive Skin, Tony Kent for Sports on Fire and Nicholas Wong for Degrassi. The Television Drama nominees included Lisa Binkley for Motive, Chris Donaldson for Penny Dreadful, Lisa Groontenboer for X Company and Mike Lee for Remedy.

In the category of Lifestyle/Factual/Reality, the nominees are Rob Chandler for his work on Surviving Evil, Simon Mancroft for Income Property, Mark Westberg for a separate episode of Income Property, Ian McBain for 16 x 9 and the team behind episode five of Amazing Race Canada, including Jonathan Dowler, Al Manson, Kyle Martin, Ben O’Neil and Steve Taylor.

Geoff Ashenhurst was nominated in the Web Series category for his work on the Whatever, Linda episode “No Boys Allowed,” while Graham Chisholm and Stephen Roque also picked up a nomination for their work on a different episode of the series, “Oh Henry.” Paul Skinner also received a nod for a third Whatever, Linda episode “Tis but a Scratch.” Jeremy Schaulin-Rioux was nominated for SOS, with Thim Smalley, Anthony Baird and Lawrence Jackman receiving a nod for Guidestones: Sunflower Noir.

The animation category saw Robert Ciasnocha, Brian Berger and John Logan picking up a nomination for Mike the Knight, and Stephanie Duncan and Mark Brenxil being recognized for their work on Trucktown. Jamie Ebata and Dan Lee got a nod for The Day My Butt Went Psycho, Luke Sargent for Indigo and Kurt Skyers and Jason Cohen for Little Charmers.

Finally, nominations in the TV Movie or Miniseries category went to Mike Banas for High Moon, Michael Doherty for Big Driver, Kye Meechan for The Book of Negroes, Tad Seaborn for Bomb Girls and Susan Shipton for a separate episode of The Book of Negroes.