TSC names Writer’s Room Intensive winners

Six writers will spend a day in a writer's room with 19-2's Bruce Smith.

The Toronto Screenwriting Conference has named the six writers that will participate in its new Writer’s Room Intensive program with 19-2′s Bruce Smith.

The six participants will spend a day in a writer’s room with Smith, the executive producer and creator of 19-2. Each participant will be assigned a position by Smith, such as staff writer or script coordinator, and will be tasked with writing a tent pole episode of 19-2.

The participants will then present their episode on stage at the Toronto Screenwriting Conference on April 11 with Smith and Tom Hastings, director of independent production at Bell Media. Hastings will then offer broadcaster notes on the episode the participants have written.

The year’s participants in the Writer’s Room Intensive are Amanda Smith-Kolic, Caitlin Fryers, Ian Carpenter, Nathalie Younglai, Rosalyn Muir and Tamara Moulin. The winners were chosen by members of the Toronto Screenwriting Advisory Committee, including Al Magee of Magee TV, writer Larry Bambrick and Kara Haflidson, production executive, factual and comedy at Bell Media.

The Toronto Screenwriting Conference will be held on April 11 and April 12 at the Daniels Spectrum in Regent Park in Toronto.