Catto, Bowlby to be honoured by WIFT-T

CBC's Sally Catto (pictured) and Insight's Barbara Bowlby are among this year's Crystal Award winners.
Sally Catto

The CBC’s Sally Catto and Insight Productions‘ Barbara Bowlby are among the winners of the 2014 Women in Film and Television Crystal Awards, the organization announced Monday.

The awards, to be presented on Dec. 2 at Arcadian Court in downtown Toronto, recognize the extraordinary achievements of Canadian men and women in the television, film and digital media industries.

Bowlby, president and COO of Insight Productions, will be presented with the outstanding achievement in business Crystal Award, while Sally Catto, general manager, programming for English television at the CBC, will receive the award for creative excellence.

Corrie Coe, SVP of independent production at Bell Media, will be presented with the mentorship award. Finally, Trina McQueen will receive the special jury award of distinction. McQueen previously served as the head of CBC News and president of CTV, and was also the founding president of Discovery Channel. She is now an adjunct professor at the Schulich School of Business at York University in its arts and media administration MBA program.

Crystal Award winners are nominated by the WIFT-T membership, with the final selections made by a jury of past Crystal Award winners. This year’s jury members included Tecca Crosby, SVP of creative affairs at Entertainment One, Susan Ross, partner at ISM Access, and Tara Ellis, senior director of original drama content at Shaw Media.