CMPA unveils short list for TIFF producers award

guillame paumier - flickr creative commons

The Canadian Media Production Association has shortlisted five producers with movie titles in TIFF to contend for its 9th annual Feature Film Producer’s Award.

Those competing for the $10,000 cash prize are Bang Bang Baby producer Daniel Bekerman of Scythia Films
, Félix and Meira producer Sylvain Corbeil of metafilms, 
and Trish Dolman and Christine Haebler, Screen Siren Pictures co-producers of Hector and the Search for Happiness

Also competing for the producer’s prize are two Canadian films with North American premieres in Toronto after bows in Cannes: metafilms’ Nancy Grant with Mommy
 and Prospero Pictures’ Martin Katz with Maps to the Stars

The winner will be announced on Sept. 4 in the Filmmakers’ Lounge in the CBC’s Glenn Gould Studio.