Toronto film critics to honour Norman Jewison, Matt Johnson

The TFCA unveiled winners of the Technicolor Clyde Gilmour Award and the Jay Scott Prize ahead of its 2013 kudosfest on Jan. 7, 2014.
Norman Jewison

Toronto film critics are to give Norman Jewison the Technicolor Clyde Gilmour Award and The Dirties director and star Matt Johnson the Jay Scott Prize for an emerging artist at their upcoming 2013 TFCA Awards.

“Our critics were impressed by the dark wit, innovative style and startling gravitas of The Dirties,” said TFCA president Brian D. Johnson in a statement Wednesday.

Johnson, who co-wrote the high-school drama, saw The Dirties win the best narrative feature and Spirit of Slamdance Award at the Slamdance Film Festival.

Jewison will also follow other Canadian film industry-builders like John Dunning, Elwy Yost and Allan King in receiving the  Technicolor Clyde Gilmour Award, which includes $50,000 in services going to a filmmaker of his choosing.

Toronto film critics will also unveil the three finalists for the Best Canadian Film Award on Dec. 17, 2013.

The 17th annual TFCA Awards will be held in Toronto on Jan. 7, 2014.