Telefilm, Maison Birks to honour Louise Archambault, Sarah Polley, Alison Pill


Telefilm Canada and Maison Birks will pay tribute to 10 Canadian women directors and actors at the Toronto International Film Festival, as part of the inaugural Birks Diamond Tribute to the Year’s Women in Film.

The honourees at the Sept. 11 event are directors Louise Archambault, Deepa Mehta, Alanis Obomsawin, Sarah Polley and Chloe Robichaud. Actors Evelyne Brochu, Genevieve Bujold, Sarah Gadon, Jessica Pare and Alison Pill were also selected.

The directors and actors were chosen by a selection committee based on the impact of their achievements, talent, recognition from organizations and their peers, and visibility they have brought to Canada over the last year.

They were selected from a pool of potential nominees, all of whom had either directed or appeared in a production in the last year.

“This partnership with Maison Birks offers us a new opportunity to recognize these remarkable women’s artistic talent and the major contribution they provide to our industry,” said Telefilm executive director Carolle Brabant in a statement.

Telefilm and Maison Birks first partnered to recognize Canadian talent last year, paying tribute to Canadian women in film with an event held during TIFF. The organizations also collaborated last year on the inaugural Birks Canadian Diamond, which was awarded to two recipients, actors Sarah Gadon and Emily Hampshire, at the Cannes Film Festival.

This year’s event will be held at the Birks store on Bloor Street in Toronto on Sept. 11.