Screen content-makers among new Order of Canada appointments

Order of Canada cropped

David Johnston, the Governor General of Canada, unveiled 74 new appointments to the Order of Canada shortly before the long weekend.

The list, which includes the appointment of 34 officers (OC) and 40 members (CM), features several screen content industry professionals.

The people, and the reasons for being named to the order, are:

  • Céline Galipeau (OC) “for her contributions to Canadian journalism, notably as a foreign correspondent.”
  • Paul Gross (OC) “for his contributions to Canadian film and television as an actor, writer and director.”
  • Carole Laure (OC) “for her international career as an actress, singer, director and dancer.”
  • Deepa Mehta (OC) “for her contributions to film as a groundbreaking screenwriter, director and producer.”
  • Sylvain Lafrance (CM) “for his contributions to the advancement of communications and the French language over the course of his career with Radio-Canada.”
  • Léa Pool (CM) “for her achievements as a director and screenwriter of films that have earned her international renown.”
  • Gilbert Sicotte (CM) “for his contributions to the performing arts as an actor, and for his commitment to training the next generation.”

Photo from the Governor General’s website, credit Sgt Ronald Duchesne