Canadian Cinema Editors award winners announced


The third annual Canadian Cinema Editors awards were announced at a ceremony held in Toronto last Thursday, and presented by film critic Richard Crouse.

Best editing for a feature length film went to Roderick Deogrades for Michael McGowan’s Still Mine.

Ron Wisman Sr. took the prize for best editing in a television movie or mini-series for Officer and A Murderer.

For best editing in a long form television series – a hour drama, comedy or family program, Stephen Lawrence won for The Transporter episode “Trojan Horsepower.”

In the half-hour broadcast short form category, Charles Robichaud won for R.L. Stine’s The Haunting Hour episode “Uncle Howie.”

And Nick Hector took home the award for best editor in the documentary category for Echoes, while in lifestyle/reality, editors Al Flett and Erin Cummings won for Ice Pilots episode “Crash Landing.”

For animation,  Kurt Skyers and Jocelyn Poon received awards for Babar and the Adventures of Badou episode “Babar the Pirate/Stripes vs. Scales.”

For short film,  Bryan Atkinson won for Night Light, while the award for best editor in any live action web series – comedy or drama went to Anthony K. Baird and Thom Smalley for Guidestones episode “Market Collapse.”

For their entire body of work Ralph Brunjes, Kelly Smith and Rik Morden received Lifetime Achievement Awards. Smith and Morden were acknowledged post-humously.

The following students were given Merit Awards:

  • Haya Waseem, Sheridan College – Mimos
  •  Mitch Spicer, Vancouver Film School – Captive
  •  Roxana Perez Fernandez, Vancouver Film School – Fish Can Fly
  •  Matt Yim, University of Regina – April Doesn’t Hurt Here
  •  Jon Anctil, Capilano University – Marathon
  •  Zhengwei Chen, Fanshawe College – Gossip
  •  Jason O’Hara, Ryerson University – Demur

The award winners were decided by a committee co-chaired by Paul Whitehead and Jason Irvine.  The Canadian Cinema Editors is a professional organization representing 250 picture editors across Canada in all media.