New Voices award winners announced

Five emerging Canadian writers will attend the Toronto Screenwriting Conference, happening Apr. 6 and 7, and have lunch with TSC founder and Meridian Artists Literary Agency president Glenn Cockburn.
Pen and paper (Photo: OrinZebest, Flickr Creative Commons)

The Toronto Screenwriting Conference has named the five emerging writer recipients of the Telefilm Canada New Voices Award formerly the Golden Quill award.

Gloria Ui Young Kim (Toronto), Margaret Rose Lester (Mississauga), Maurey Loeffler (Toronto), Piers Rae (Vancouver) and Nathalie Younglai (Toronto) will receive complimentary registration to this year’s screenwriting conference and will lunch with Glenn Cockburn, TSC founder and president of Meridian Artists Literary Agency.

The Toronto Screenwriting Conference will this year host a slew of speakers including producer/writers Glen Mazzara (The Walking Dead), Aaron Korsch (Suits), Tassie Cameron (Rookie Blue, Flashpoint), HBO director of original content Kathleen McCaffrey and authors Dara Marks and Penny Penniston.

The conference takes place at Ryerson University’s Ted Rogers School of Management on Apr. 6 and 7, 2013.