NSI announces online short film fest winners

The National Screen Institute’s Online Short Film Festival has announced that short films TommyThe Provider, and The Dance are winners in its latest round.

Canadian short Tommy, directed by Theodore Bezaire, is the winner of the $1,250 A&E Short Filmmakers Award.

Tommy successfully combines film school principals (develop a simple, authentic story with a creative arc and satisfying finish) plus ups it a notch by including a few ‘what not to dos,’ such as working with animals, kids and moving vehicles in production, to make an expertly conceived and executed short film,” said jury member Joy Loewen of the film.

The Provider

Director Brianne Nord-Stewart received the $2,500 Shaw Media Fearless Female Director Award for The Provider, which was written, shot and originally edited in 48 hours as part of the Bloodshots Canada Horror Filmmaking Competition. Jury members Nicholas Humphries, Maureen Levitt and Loewen tapped the film for its cinematography, sound design and lead performances.

And Pardis Parker’s The Dance picked up the $750 Bite Comedy Award.

The Dance

“Pardis Parker’s quirky use of colour, camera movement, music and wordless expression to tell a simple, silent love story are what made us choose The Dance for best comedy,” said jury member Humphries. Levitt added: “Parker’s timing and body language in The Dance was exceptional considering this film had no dialogue. The strength of humour conveyed by his gestures was enormously powerful.”

Submissions for the next round of the year-round film festival are open until April 1, 2013.