WGC screenwriting awards nominees unveiled


The Writers Guild of Canada announced the nominees on Thursday for its 17th annual awards, including nods for the writers behind Bomb Girls, My Babysitter’s a Vampire, Still and Picture Day.

Nominated in the movies and miniseries category are Andrew Wreggitt for The Phantoms; Kate Melville for Picture Day; Elan Mastai and David Weaver for The Samaritan; and Michael McGowan for Still.

In TV drama, Michael MacLennan is up for Bomb Girls (Jumping Tracks); Simon Barry for Continuum (End Times); Martin Gero for The L.A. Complex (Down in L.A.); Esta Spalding for Saving Hope (Bea Again); and Leila Basen and Heather Conkie, both for separate eps of Heartland (Life is a Highway and Breaking Down and Building Up, respectively).

And Less Than Kind swept the TV comedy nods with three out of the four nominations. Denis McGrath (Less Than Kind), Mark McKinney (Fugue State) and Kim Coghill (Jerk Chicken) are all in the running, a are Ian Malone, Charles Picco and Craig David Wallace for Todd and the Book of Pure Evil‘s B.Y.O.B.O.P.E. (Malone and Wallace wrote the teleplay).

A full list of nominees, in categories including animation, children and youth, documentary and shorts and webseries, is available here.

The winners will be announced at the WGC Screenwriting Awards, to be hosted once again by Ryan Belleville and written by Bob Kerr in collaboration with Belleville, on Apr. 22 at Toronto’s Uniun Nightclub.