Victor Loewy, Ian Greenberg to receive Academy special awards


Everyone’s a winner at the upcoming inaugural Canadian Screen Awards in March.

The Academy of Canadian Cinema and Television on Monday announced that eight recipients for its board of directors Academy Special Awards, given to people and productions that have had an impact in the film, TV and digital media industries.

Industry vets including former Alliance CEO Victor Loewy (left), Astral Media CEO Ian Greenberg and Fashion Television host Jeanne Beker, and Canadian drama series Flashpoint are among the people and productions receiving the honours.

“Our industry is filled with remarkably talented people whose contributions to our country must be recognized. The Board takes great pride in being able to honour and celebrate their achievements through these Academy Chair Awards. I am particularly gratified this year that the Academy Board has chosen to recognize the contributions of some of our members that have truly been game-changing for the industry,” said Academy chair Martin Katz in a statement.

The full list of recipients is as follows:

  • Jeanne Beker – Academy Achievement Award, for exception contributions to the Canadian TV industry
  • Flashpoint – Academy Board of Directors Tribute, for outstanding and enduring contributions to Canadian TV
  • Ian Greenberg – Academy Special Award, for exceptional achievement in Canadian film and TV
  • Victor Loewy – Academy Special Film Award, for exceptional achievement in filmmaking or service to the film industry
  • Andra Sheffer – Digital Media Trail-Blazing Award, for outstanding achievement in Canadian digital media (sponsored by the OMDC)
  • The Honourable Laurier LaPierre – Gordon Sinclair Award for Broadcast Journalism, to honour exceptional contributions in Canadian television journalism (post-humous)
  • Heather Conkie (Heartland) – Margaret Collier Award, for a writer’s exceptional contribution to Canadian TV
  • IMAX corporation and its suite of entertainment technologies – Outstanding Technical Achievement Award, for recent Canadian technical achievements

On Tuesday, the Academy also announced three-part audience engagement strategy for the Canadian Screen Awards.

As part of a fan’s choice initiative, fans will be able to vote for the person they think deserves the title of Canada’s Screen Star.

Fans can also sign up to meet various celebrities and industry folk on March 2 through FanZone, and enter to attend the live Canadian Screen Awards broadcast at the CBC.

The audience initiatives are all located at the Academy’s FanZone hub.

The awards will be handed out at the Canadian Screen Awards on March 3.