CMPA shortlists five producers for $10,000 TIFF feature film prize

The winner will come from among Pierre Even and Marie-Claude Poulin, Juliette Hagopian, David Hamilton, Daniel Iron and producer/director Michael McGowan.

Five Canadian film producers have been shortlisted for the Canadian Media Production Association’s $10,000 feature film producer’s award, to be handed out on Sept. 6 at The Toronto International Film Festival.

The CMPA jury, led by producer André Rouleau, will choose from among Pierre Even and Marie-Claude Poulin for Rebelle; Juliette Hagopian for My Awkward Sexual Adventure; David Hamilton for Midnight’s Children; Daniel Iron for Inescapable; and producer/director Michael McGowan for Still (pictured).

“We are very proud to have this opportunity to shine the spotlight on independent feature film producers at TIFF,” CMPA president and CEO Michael Hennessy said Monday in a statement.

Joining Rouleau on the CMPA jury is Mark Slone of Alliance Films, filmmaker Scott Smith, screenwriter Karen Walton and Barb Williams of Shaw Media.