Sisters & Brothers wins big at B.C.’s Leo Awards


It was a good weekend for Carl Bessai, whose film Sisters & Brothers (pictured) dominated the feature length drama program in the 2012 Leo Awards, earning six trophies on Saturday night.

The film, from Vancouver-based Raven West Films, nabbed the best feature length drama award (for producers Bessai, James Brown and Emily Alden), and Bessai took home the prize for best director.

Amanda Crew took the award for best performance by a female, and Tom Scholte won in the best supporting male category, while Sabrina Pitre nabbed a trophy for best picture editing and Daniel Moxon won for best musical score.

In the dramatic series category, it was Blackstone and the recently-cancelled Sanctuary that came out on top, each taking home four awards. Blackstone nabbed the best series trophy (for producers Ron E. Scott, Jesse Szymanski and Damon Vignale), and Steven Cree Molison won the prize for best male performance in the episode “Hitchin.”

Sanctuary, meanwhile, won in the best production design category (for Bridget McGuire), and the episode “Chimera” earned the best visual effects prize (for Matt Belbin, Colin Ebbeson, Lee Wilson, Sebastein Bergeron and Les Quinn).

Elsewhere, I Am Bruce Lee, the feature documentary from Network Entertainment snatched up three trophies, including a best director nod for Pete McCormick, and Big Bad Boo Studios’ 1,001 Nights was crowned best animated series.

Rounding out the list of big winners was R.L Stine’s The Haunting Hour, which dominated the youth and children’s category for the second year in a row, nabbing prizes for best series (for producer Harvey Kahn), best direction (for Neil Fearnley and the episode “Brush with Madness”) and best performance (Christopher Heyerdahl in the episode “Fear Never Knocks”).

Clarifying update: Lisa Robison took home the prize for best picture editing in a dramatic series for her work on Haunted Hour‘s ep “Scary Mary Part 2″. It was the second year in a row for which she won a Leo for editing on the series.

The full list of 2012 Leo award winners is available online.