WGC Screenwriting Awards Finalists Announced

Among the 34 finalists are the writers behind Flashpoint, Todd and the Book of Pure Evil (pictured) and Murdoch Mysteries.
ToddandtheBookofPureEvil - 2

The Writers Guild of Canada on Wednesday announced the finalists for the 16th annual WGC Screenwriting Awards.

Among finalists are screenwriters behind Flashpoint, Todd and the Book of Pure Evil, My Babysitter’s a Vampire and Murdoch Mysteries.

In the children and youth category, Evan Thaler Hickey is nominated for Connor Undercover (Escape Artist), and Ken Cuperus (Blood Drive), Ben Joseph (Friday Night Frights) and Alice Prodanou (ReVamped) are all nominated for My Babysitter’s a Vampire.

Finalists in the movies and miniseries category are Bruce M. Smith for John A: Birth of a Country; Sarah Polley for Take This Waltz; and for Afghan Luke, Patrick Graham and Douglas Bell for the movie’s screen story, and Graham, Bell, Mike Clattenburg and Barrie Dunn for the screenplay.

For TV comedy, Derek Schreyer is nominated for 18 to Life (One is the Loneliest Number); Mark Farrell for Dan for Mayor (Ethical Dilemma); Matt Watts for Michael: Tuesdays and Thursdays (Bridges); and Craig David Wallace for Todd and the Book of Pure Evil (A Farewell to Curtis’ Arm).

Writers nominated for TV dramas are Graham Clegg for Murdoch Mysteries (Kommando); Alan McCullough for Sanctuary (Metamorphosis); and for Flashpoint, Michael MacLennan (The Better Man), Aubrey Nealson (Day Game), Mark Ellis and Stephanie Morgenstern (A Day in the Life), and Larry Bambrick (Shockwave) were all named as finalists.

More than 175 nominated scripts were whittled down to 28 finalist scripts across seven categories.

A full list of the 34 finalists is available on the WGC website.

The winners will be announced at the 2012 WGC Screenwriting Awards event on Apr. 23 in Toronto.