Telefilm unveils Golden Quill recipients


The Toronto Screenwriting Conference announced Tuesday the 12 recipients of Telefilm’s inaugural Golden Quill.

Screenwriters Adam Cowley (Ottawa), John Titley (Winnipeg), Ana Valine (Powell River), Daniel Wincenty (Montreal) and from Toronto, Glenn Forbes, Chris Hill, Stephanie Law, Vincent Lui, Vanessa Matsui, Sasha Mervyn, Louis Taylor and Naomi Ward, are all granted passes to the third annual TSC on March 31 and Apr. 1.

“Telefilm Canada sees the Toronto Screenwriting Conference as an invaluable resource for our emerging talent in the Canadian film industry,” said Anne Frank, Telefilm interim regional director, industry promotion, in a statement. “The screenplay is the dream of a film on the page; screenwriting is filmmaking.”

To qualify, the recipients had to have written two short films, one of which must have been produced, and have written a feature or pilot that has not been produced. In addition, they each submitted a brief explanation of how the Golden Quill could assist in their professional development. According to a TSC statement, six of the 12 awards were granted to diverse screenwriters.

The TSC takes place at Ryerson’s Ted Rogers School of Management in downtown Toronto.