ACTRA Montreal actors honoured


ACTRA Montreal celebrated its own Sunday night, honouring seven of its members for their achievements in film and television.

The awards were celebrated Sunday night in Montreal, with Joe Cobden (Peepers) taking home the ACTRA Award for Outstanding Performance – Male and Emily Van Camp (Ben Hur) for Outstanding Performance – Female. Tony Robinow (The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo) snagged the trophy for Outstanding Voice Performance.

What a Doll! by Ellen David won the Audience Choice honour for Best ACTRA Short, and Toast by Lydia Zadel took the Best ACTRA Short, Jury Selection.

Other awards handed out during the evening included the 2011 ACTRA Montreal Community Builder Award, which Victor Knight presented to Virginia Ryshpan for her efforts in looking after the interests of Montreal performers.

Ryshpan was the union’s first staffer and assistant national executive in Montreal and helped establish ACTRA’s jurisdiction, negotiated its first agreements and also developed the ACTRA Performers’ Rights Society.

Dick Irvin was also honoured with the 2011 Award of Excellence, presented by Walter Massey. Irvin’s 50-year career in sports broadcasting includes a legacy as the longest-serving broadcaster in Hockey Night in Canada history and he has been inducted in the Hockey Hall of Fame, Canadian Broadcaster’s Hall of Fame and CBC Sports Hall of Fame.

The Awards Gala was hosted by Holly Gauthier-Frankel and ACTRA Montreal president Don Jordan.