CMPA shortlists producers for $10,000 award

Five producers are in the running for the Canadian Media Production Association's Feature Film Producer's Award.
Edwin Boyd

Five producers have been shortlisted for the 6th Annual Canadian Media Production Association’s (CMPA) Feature Film Producer’s Award, as announced by last year’s winner Denise Robert.

Founded with the Toronto International Film Festival, the award recognizes vision and entrepreneurship of an outstanding Canadian producer, whose work shows commitment and passion. The winning producer will take home a cash prize of $10,000 and will be feted at a special reception on the opening TIFF on Sept. 8th.

The nominees are Allison Black (Edwin Boyd, pictured), Susan Cavan (Take This Waltz), Sandra Cunningham (Billy Bishop Goes to War, The Moth Diaries), Jennifer Jonas (I’m Yours) and André Rouleau (Starbuck, Goon, Breakaway).

All producers have films screening at this year’s fest.

“All of these producers have dedicated their careers to the creation of feature films,” said Robert in a statement. “It requires tenacity and courage to complete these kinds of projects and bring them to the big screen. It was a very difficult decision because every applicant was worthy of a nomination.”

Robert was also chair of the jury, whicih included Neil Campbell, Mark Musselman, Paul Pope and Susan Shipton.