Best of the Year: micro_scope


The Montreal-based prodco talks about finding critical and commercial success with a strategy that balances serious subject matter with accessible storytelling.

IPF and Cogeco commit to expanded funding mandates


Over the next three years, the IPF will make web series funding a focus after a two-year experimental program, while the Cogeco Fund will continue to fund Canadian television drama series as part of a broadened mandate.

Avi Federgreen to release festival winners in Canadian theatres


Moon Point and Peace Out mark the first two acquisitions for the veteran Canadian film producer’s newly launched distribution shingle, Indiecan Entertainment.

Best of the year: Kirstine Stewart


The EVP of CBC English Services tells Mark Dillon about the challenges of her new role and cultivating a slate of Cancon that Canadians want to watch.

DHX Media posts lower Q1 earnings, despite higher revenues


The Canadian producer bolstered its revenue line with higher producer fees and service production business.

Best of the Year: Christine Shipton


Shaw Media’s VP of original content talks about her approach to commissioning great shows and programming highlights of 2011.

CRTC hands Bell a penalty over mobile sports programming


Ruling on a January 2011 complaint filed by Telus, the regulator says Bell’s exclusive mobile-content deals with the NHL and NFL run contrary to its new media policy, a claim Bell refutes.

Astral Media on Canadian film acquisition: ‘Our business model has not changed’


The broadcaster responds to CAFDE’s assertion that its pay TV licence fees have declined in recent years, and refutes Alliance’s claim that it was not interested in carrying Breakaway.

Best of the Year: marblemedia


The Toronto-based prodco is Playback‘s Transmedia producer of the year. Read on to find out how they are innovating in media’s newest storytelling space.

Barbara Haynes named 2011 Sondra Kelly award winner


Haynes will use the $6,000 towards the development of her series Secretary Day.

The definitive CDN broadcast and production resource.
Over 5,000 company listings!



2015-ACTRA-Awards - ACTRA Toronto president David Sparrow (back left) with the ACTRA Award winners (L to R: Cory Doran, Tantoo Cardinal, Gavin Crawford, Jamie Jones)