Denis Seguin

Contact Denis by sending an email to

Articles by Denis Seguin

Reitman set for honors, jury duty at Whistler


Chloe producer to take lifetime achievement prize and lead Borsos jury

Redgrave, Belucci, Strathairn sign to Whistleblower


E1 to distribute Canada/Germany coproduction from first-timer Larysa Kondracki

Sony takes Egoyan’s Chloe for U.S.


StudioCanal closes deal in the low seven figures. Release expected stateside by spring

Alberta moving forward on studio


Deal for Calgary stage expected in two months, says culture minister, despite budget crunch

Sherry and Cianciotta back in the distribution game


Jim Sherry and Tony Cianciotta are back in the distribution game. In advance of TIFF, the industry veterans launched D Films, a boutique releasing company that acquires and distributes feature films in Canada across all platforms. Sherry is president while Cianciotta heads up acquisitions. The investors in the privately held company were not disclosed.

Beginning to see the Lightbox


As I confront TIFF number 25, I admit to a strong ambivalence. The coming onslaught of movies is welcome, but less so the attendant explosion of self-importance. Our era’s cult of personal celebrity is bad enough, but in a few days everyone from doormen to waitresses to party publicists and party crashers will be moving levers of petty control. There’s nothing like show business to bring the prick out of anyone.

Carmody to produce hockey comedy


Goon to be helmed by Mike Dowse of Pete Tong fame, from script by TIFF sensation Jay Baruchel and Evan Goldberg

Wellington, Film Farm go on Journey


High-concept dramedy coming from Luck director and Toronto shop. New DePalma film also in the works

Grondin to be Above Suspicion


C.R.A.Z.Y. star to lead thriller by French helmer Gabriel Le Bomin, shooting next month in Europe

Vallée, Even reteam on French thriller


Café de Flore scouting for copro partners and leading lady

The definitive CDN broadcast and production resource.
Over 5,000 company listings!



2015-ACTRA-Awards - ACTRA Toronto president David Sparrow (back left) with the ACTRA Award winners (L to R: Cory Doran, Tantoo Cardinal, Gavin Crawford, Jamie Jones)