Hot Docs launches Changing Face of Europe program

The Toronto documentary festival has also announced its Made In program will highlight works from Mexico.
Copied from Realscreen - Hot Docs marquee. Photo: Paul Galipeau

Hot Docs has partnered with the European Film Promotion (EFP) to launch a program titled ‘The Changing Face of Europe’ at this year’s event.

The pan-European track will showcase 10 new documentaries, each examining the current cultural, geographic, economic and political factors affecting Europe today.

Selected filmmakers will participate in Hot Docs-related industry events over the festival’s schedule, which runs April 26 to May 6 in Toronto. The workshops and pitches aim to enable the documentarians to expand their professional development on an international scale, and increase their film’s access to North American and international markets.¬†

Formed in 1997, the EFP network incorporates 36 national promotion organizations from 35 European countries and works to promote and market European cinema worldwide. Since 2017, the organization has provided film sales support for European world sales companies to market films selected for Hot Docs, helping to stimulate distribution of European films to North America and beyond.

Elsewhere, the 10-day festival will present recent works from Mexico for its ‘Made In’ program.

Run in collaboration with the Mexican Film Institute (IMCINE), the program will feature a selection of “bold, uncompromising and wildly imaginative documentaries” that showcase the creative talent at work in the country today.

The 2018 edition of the Toronto-set festival will mark the second time films from Mexican directors have been showcased in the program.

The country was last featured in the tract a decade ago in 2008.

Past countries spotlighted in the ‘Made In’ category have included Japan (2017), Australia (2016), India (2015), Denmark (2014), Poland (2013), Southeastern Europe (2012), Italy (2011), South America (2010), South Korea (2009), Mexico (2008), Brazil (2007), Japan (2006), South Africa (2004), and Taiwan (2003).

This year’s programming titles will be announced in March.

Image: Paul Galipeau/